Chocolate Cavity Maker Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I have tested 4 different chocolate cake recipes at the same that are similar on this website and this one is good but not the best. I like the Too Much Chocolate Cake and the Double Chocolate Brownie Cake recipes better. I also recommend Chocolate Lovers Favorite Cake if you like a hint of almond flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This cake is delicious and very moist! Loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Delicious! Even better, its so easy to make! I cringed at the idea of a “box“ cake but took my chances since I saw other had the same feeling and gave it good reviews....wow This will be my go to cake when I'm in a pinch. Fellow foodies adored this. I took this to a small gathering (4 people) so there was some left and I took the remaining into work for the guys....while they are generally very happy to see me walk in with baked goods this one got particularly rave reviews....one even showed up in my office later asking if he could pay me to bake him another one because it was the best chocolate cake he'd ever had! Our resident "sour cream hater" did a double take when I told him what was in it...then asked if I had anymore! :) I used Godiva liqueur and 2 cups of the mini chocolate chips. I think next I'll try the Baileys Irish Cream and I'm thinking a red velvet version....but I can't decide on a liqueur for that one yet....hm....back to the kitchen to experiment!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Wow! I don't know what to add that hasn't already been said. I followed the recipe exactly. It was moist, rich, and wonderful. I did not flour the pan - simply sprayed with PAM and let it cool completely. It released perfectly from the pan. What a treat! Thanks, Caitlin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Fantastic! Serve with cherry ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
I've made a "Chocolate Kahlua Cake" for years but lost the recipe in a move. Low and behold, this is the recipe! My friends and family will be so happy because this cake is their favorite and made me a hit at any occasion I took it to. For an adult-only event, I pour a generous amount of Kahlua (the real stuff, it tastes best) on the serving tray and set the warm cake on it and let it soak up the Kahlua overnight. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marli Larimer
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
this was definitely a big hit with the chocolate lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Hurricane, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Tastes like a cake and a brownie collided! Made with Frangelico liquor... DIVINE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryFrances Mullins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Laguna Vista, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
This cake was easy to mix together and baked beautifully. It was very moist as well. However, it was kind of bland. It definitely needed frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
awesome cake, so moist! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States