Chocolate Caramel Nut Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2003
I served this at an open house and had many requests for the recipe. I made a couple changes in the recipe by adding an 8 oz pkg softened cream cheese and using cheesecake instant pudding. I used extra apples as mine were not large apples. I mixed in 1 Tbsp. of lemon juice before adding whipped topping to prevent the apples from browning. To make cutting the Snickers bars easier, I let my strong husband cut them! Caution, don't chop the Snickers bars too fine or you loose the whole idea of putting them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
I love this salad/dessert. I did as another suggested and added 4oz of (low fat) cream cheese. I also used skim milk and the light cool whip - it was just as good, and you don't feel quite so bad about eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
Oh my gosh! This is delicious. Its is better when it sits overnight and the caramel from the snickers combines with the apples. Oh my gosh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
I wanted a new salad for a potluck of various salads. What a great idea! Its a great recipe for a summer picnic/potluck. Instead of coring and peeling the apples, I just cut them up into bite size pieces. Forget the kids liking it, its a hit with adults!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
I received compliments on this "dessert". The flavor was good and the kids really liked it. I gave it only 4 stars because I thought the amount of pudding was too much. I ended up adding a lot more grapes, snickers, and apples then it called for. When making this again, I would add all ingredients, then slowly add the pudding to create the consistency I like. Or, I would add more of the grapes, snickers and apples. With these tweaks, the recipe is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
Everyone really liked it and went back for seconds. I'd make it again. After a nasty cut on my thumb years ago from cutting chilled snickers, I've learned DO NOT cut them chilled or frozen. Let them chill while the prepared salad is in the fridge, trust me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
My 9-year-old son liked this. But I found it very hard to make...chopping up six Snickers bars made my arms hurt! I would advise not to put them in the fridge before-hand. I probably will not make again unless he asks for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
This stuff is pretty good. I was skeptical at first but, my family really enjoyed it. I accidently made the pudding and also added the 1 cup milk and the still liked it. I think next time though I will maybe cut back on the snickers and add a bananna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
I made this for our class potluck and people were skeptical in trying it at first. After word of mouth, many people will and tried it and were pleasantly surprised at this "innovative" and "new spin on salad" dish. Great recipe and a delightful treat for all! (A lot of people thought it was potato salad at first glance!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
I never thought eating grapes and Snickers in the same bite would be delicious- but I was wrong. This salad is so good- a huge hit! I will make it again and again for parties, events, or even just for snacking. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States