Chocolate Caramel Nut Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
This cheesecake is absolutely marvelous! One of the reviewers (KIMAR) had trouble making the crust. She thought the ratio of crumbs to butter was off. I think her oven was off. I have made this numerious times and NEVER had a problem with the crust. To the reviewer who said they had a problem with the top cracking, this happens with most cheescakes that get overbaked. Always watch your cheesecake when there is 5-10 minutes left in the baking process. Cheesecake is done when the center is set (sort of looks like Jello). Overall, this recipe is terrific on ease & taste. I don't think KIMAR knows the first thing in baking cheesecakes. It takes a lot of practice. And this one is a great one to start with! I also followed other people's reviews and garnished with chocolate and caramel sauce. I then sliced snickers and placed them around the edge! What a professional look! Thanks so much for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This was delicious! I wanted a thicker cheesecake so I added an extra package of cream cheese and an extra egg, extra 1/4 cup sugar, a bit more chopped Snickers bar to compensate. My 9 inch springform had broken during our move a couple months ago, so I had to use an 8 inch. It made a very tall, but lovely, cheesecake. Just had to bake it about 20 minutes longer. Left it in the oven for about 2 hours after I turned it off. Garnished with mini Snickers bars and Praline Sundae Topping from this site. Very delicious, and a great dessert for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2002
About the crust: The ratio of crumbs to butter is off. It seemed rather dry, as if there wasn't enough butter in it, but I made the mistake of trusting the recipe rather than my own instincts. After only 8 minutes in the oven, I began to smell it burning. Indeed, my crust was very burnt and had to be thrown out. I found several other cheesecake recipes with graham cracker crusts that used more butter in the crust and didn't bake the crust, just refrigerated it until the batter was ready to be poured over it. So I remade the crust, using an additional 1 tablespoon of butter and didn't bake the crust, just refrigerated it until I was ready to pour the batter in. That seemed to work well. However, I was disappointed in this cheesecake. It was rather flat, resembling a pie more than a cheesecake. A rather disappointing outcome after having to remake the crust after it burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Made this for the family as one of 12 desserts for Thanksgiving dinner. Let's just say that it only lasted aobut 12 minutes before the serving tray was wiped clean! It has already been requested for Christmas! Excellent with just a couple of modifications. As stated in other cheesecake reviews, make sure that all of the ingredients are at room temperature before starting and that the cheesecake has time to sit overnight in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
Very yummy! I wish I had added a little more butter to the crust, it turned out very crumbly and made a mess when serving it. I added more Snickers to the batter, made a milk chocolate glaze for the top and sprinkled chopped peanuts over that. I used whipped cream, caramel sauce, and sliced Snickers for a garnish. It was beautiful and delicious, despite the messy crust! Oh, and light cream cheese works great for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHMO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
I changed it a little.Because the first time I made it the cake was so thin and cracked even though I used a hot water bath.My niece and I made the changes following : 5 (8z) cream cheese, 5 eggs, 1 1/4 c sugar,1T vanilla and 4 snicker bars. We bake it for 50 minutes shut off the oven and cracked the door for ten minutes. Then we cool it on top of the stove covered for an hour, before putting it in the fridge. It turned out beautiful. The snickers did weep abit, which kept me from giving it 5 stars.I think it is a good basic recipe you could make( with a few changes) your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2004
Great Recipe...with about 5 minutes to go, i turned off the heat and let the cheescake cool in the oven as suggested elsewhere in this site. It worked great, with no cracking at all. Garnished the top with some additional Snickers Pieces and swirled caramel and chocolate syrup on top. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Margotti
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
this cheescake was the best i have ever made!!! i got sooo many compliments i cant describe how happy i was! this is soooo delicious i couldnt believe i made it with my own hands! i added a chocolate and walnuts layer before a added the cream cheese mixture, and then i made a chocolate candy, caramel and walnuts topping! it came out fantasticly delicious!! this is a dream cheescake,! i was told this is a "uo for competition" recipe. wow! totaly recommend it! 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This is the second time I have made this in 2 weeks. Reason being that someone loved it so much they wanted me to make one for them to take to a holiday party..I received so many compliments!!! I followed the recipe exactly and added carmel and more chopped snickers bars to the top. The cheesecake is not overly sweet which is what makes this works. I also put mine in a water bath. Will I make again ABSOLUTELY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
This cheesecake was awesome. I did add an extra snickers bar and before I served I drizzled with carmel ice cream topping. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TruexJrGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States