Chocolate Caramel Nut Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
This cheesecake is absolutely marvelous! One of the reviewers (KIMAR) had trouble making the crust. She thought the ratio of crumbs to butter was off. I think her oven was off. I have made this numerious times and NEVER had a problem with the crust. To the reviewer who said they had a problem with the top cracking, this happens with most cheescakes that get overbaked. Always watch your cheesecake when there is 5-10 minutes left in the baking process. Cheesecake is done when the center is set (sort of looks like Jello). Overall, this recipe is terrific on ease & taste. I don't think KIMAR knows the first thing in baking cheesecakes. It takes a lot of practice. And this one is a great one to start with! I also followed other people's reviews and garnished with chocolate and caramel sauce. I then sliced snickers and placed them around the edge! What a professional look! Thanks so much for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2002
All of my friends loved this recipie. It's magnificant!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2002
About the crust: The ratio of crumbs to butter is off. It seemed rather dry, as if there wasn't enough butter in it, but I made the mistake of trusting the recipe rather than my own instincts. After only 8 minutes in the oven, I began to smell it burning. Indeed, my crust was very burnt and had to be thrown out. I found several other cheesecake recipes with graham cracker crusts that used more butter in the crust and didn't bake the crust, just refrigerated it until the batter was ready to be poured over it. So I remade the crust, using an additional 1 tablespoon of butter and didn't bake the crust, just refrigerated it until I was ready to pour the batter in. That seemed to work well. However, I was disappointed in this cheesecake. It was rather flat, resembling a pie more than a cheesecake. A rather disappointing outcome after having to remake the crust after it burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
not too bad, though incredily rich cos i decided to go over the top and added more snickers. will follow the recipe next time. But the nuts made the chesscake really good, and i used a ready made crumb crust and made a cheesecake pie instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
Personally this was too sweet for me... but my husband LOVED it!!! And that's the important thing.:-) I made it for him for Valentine's Day this year. It mixed his two favorite things cheese cake and Snickers. The whole thing was gone in 3 days and I only had 1 piece! He ate the rest! Thanks for the recipe. And Scott thanks you too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RUCIFEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
Very good. Took it to an Easter gathering and everyone loved it. Think I may add one more candy bar the next time. Cake got a horrible split down the middle and also sank after I took it out of the oven. Anyone have a good explanation why and how I can prevent this the next time? Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
This is an outstanding cheesecake and for some reason it was really quick to make....everyone had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
The batter alone was so good I barely was able to make the cheesecake. Double thumbs up on this dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
This was my first attempt at any type of cheesecake and it was very simple and easy to achieve. I delivered the finished product to my co-workers for a holiday treat and the entire cake was gone before lunchtime!!! A very delicious and impressive cheesecake. P.S. The Chocolate syrup and caramel topping gives it a professional appearance. Great idea!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2001
This is a great cheesecake. I decorated each piece with a slice of Snickers bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States