Chocolate Caramel Nut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
We made this for my mother-in-law's birthday last year and it was pretty good. However, it was 10 times better the next day! It just wasn't nearly as good fresh out of the oven for some reason. But I was very pleased. I believe we also used peanuts instead of the other nuts. Very, very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
So good! I used the chewy caramel recipe from this site as the filling instead of running to the store and buying caramels and unwrapping them. A dollop of vanilla ice cream on top - decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
This was a very good cake. I modified by using regular chocolate cake. I also didn't add walnuts. But I would make this again, possibly making a snickers cake by using peanuts. The Caramel filling was VERY good, nice and buttery. Although it would be easier to use caramel topping, I feel like the people who did that missed out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
It might be messy, it might not be too pretty, but this cake is soooo delicious. I used a favorite chocolate cake recipe instead of a cake mix. I also left out the walnuts- there are no walnuts in Snickers. The best part is the caramel sauce- it is so buttery and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2000
I MADE THIS CAKE FOR VALENTINE'S DAY. PLACE IN MICROWAVE FOR 10-15 SECONDS BEFORE EATING TO MELT CHOCOLATE CHIPS. I ALSO ADDED DICED SNICKERS BARS ON TOP AND ADDED A DOLLOP OF VANILLA ICE CREAM. BY FAR-ONE OF THE BEST CAKES I'VE HAD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I have been making this recipe for over 20 years, it is a favorite of ours. The caramel filling is supposed to be somewhat solid once it cools off. It is equally delicious warm or cold (or, in some cases, frozen!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Absolutely FABULOUS!!!!!!!! Well worth the time to unwrap and melt the caramels!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2000
I made this cake for my boyfriend's birthday and his entire office loved it! This is an extremely rich cake - you can't eat much! I subbed Devil's Food cake and peanuts because he doesn't like coconut or walnuts. Turned out great and also did the snickers on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
It wasn't bad. I am not a fan of box cakes in the first place, liking cakes made from scratch. However, I made this for my daughter and her boyfriends birthday (they have it on the same day) and they both really liked it. The caramel mixture in the middle was really good-I did not substitute buying already made caramel in a jar as you really miss out on the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This cake is requested by my brother every year for his birthday. I make a few changes though. I do not use nuts (because his girlfriend is allergic to them), and I top the cake with the Caramel Frosting V on this site, but do not blend all the way. It makes it more like a gooey glaze. So yummy, and very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States