Chocolate Caramel Nut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This really was delicious. I added pecans so it was walnut and pecans mixed. I also used very dark chocolate 60 %. Very decadent :)The last time putting in oven though it took longer. I had to bake it about 35 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Super gooey and yummy! So easy to make and so delicious. I thought there was too much caramel to put in the middle of the cake so I set some aside and poured it over the top of the cake after it was done baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indian Valley, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This is wonderful. As per someone else's review, I topped it with Caramel Frosting V from this site. It's not a very pretty cake as is, but this frosting is a beautiful color and just what the presentation needs. After frosting I added more nuts on top - looks beautiful! I used pecans instead of walnuts, and used more than called for. My only complaint is that it was hard to find a cake mix that was 18.25 oz. All of the name brand mixes were 15 or so ounces, so I had to go with a generic, just because it was the only mix in the specified amount. Now that I've tried it, I might trust next time to make it with a 15 oz mix. Really delish, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
It wasn't bad. I am not a fan of box cakes in the first place, liking cakes made from scratch. However, I made this for my daughter and her boyfriends birthday (they have it on the same day) and they both really liked it. The caramel mixture in the middle was really good-I did not substitute buying already made caramel in a jar as you really miss out on the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
BIG HIT AT WORK! and well worth the little time to make the caramel sauce!! I would have used a darker cake mix, not the " German cake mix" it called for but, more like a "devil food cake mix" or dark choc cake mix. I did pecans on 1 half and cut up snickers bar on the other. Snickers were better and I would try peanuts next time instead of pecans(salty peanuts would be perfect).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Hubby made this for me for my birthday... so it must be easy to make. ;) It was delicious too. I know he used a regualr chocolate cake mix and used pecans instead of walnuts - was more like a turtle cake. Good the first day; excellent the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
not quite what I expected
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Really delish! I can't believe it worked. I thought the first layer would burn, or the top wouldn't cook properly, or the caramel mixture would mix with the cake batter. I don't know why, but it came out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This was super easy to bake and quite good. Everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States