Chocolate Caramel Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I may have to come back and edit this later because the cheesecake is still in the oven, but WHOA! this may be another winner. I was inspired to try this recipe because a couple of weeks ago I went to The Cheesecake Factory for the first time. While there I shared a piece of the most delectable dessert my tastebuds have ever had the pleasure of trying: White Chocolate Caramel Macadamia Nut Cheesecake. Well, this recipe sounds pretty close to that one, I think, with a couple of substitutions, and will be perfect for a going-away party for one of my daughter's teachers... I've used macadamia nuts instead of pecans. And, instead of completely mixing the chocolate with the cheesecake filling, I spooned 1/2 the filling onto the crust and caramel mixture; on top of that, I spooned 3 T melted chocolate and marbled it w/ a knife; I poured the remaining filling into the pan, spooned and marbled another 3-4 T chocolate. Voila! Beautiful! Also, and I know how silly it is considering how full of fat and calories this dessert is, I didn't want a trans-fat-laden crust: I crushed some Newman's Own organic alphabet cookies for the crust instead of using regular graham crackers. I can't wait to see how it turns out! Once it's done and cooled, I plan on piping some homemade vanilla and chocolate whipped cream around the edges and garnishing the middle with some roasted macadamia nuts and a little more whipped cream. I'm hoping to post a picture when it's ready. :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Manitowish Waters, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Wow, this cheesecake was a monster hit at a get-together with some family and friends. I already have requests to make it again. The tip of placing the pan of water and cooling slowly in the oven was spot on! I have rarely seen a prettier cheesecake. I would highly recommend this recipe .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TalaMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Excellent Cheesecake. The caramel does harden in the refrigerator which makes it difficult to cut. I might suggest not using the caramel, but melting some and pouring over the top when served. Either way... Delectible. Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
i made this buti measured 1 cup milk chocolate chips before melting them. everyone loved it now grandkids want it for a birthday cake a huge delite.was very easy to make.i would most certainly make it again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
I made this for my friend's birthday (she's a cheesecake fiend!) and she loved it. Of course she twisted my arm and made me have a slice too! I used the Praline Sundae sauce from this site as I forgot to purchase caramels, added and extra 8 oz. pkg. of cream cheese and an extra egg and it was to die for. Talk about eyes rolling back in your head. Next time I'll try to make it low carb with a pecan crust and splenda in the filling. Thank you Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This was very rich and delicious. The caramel really hardens and is hard to cut through when it's cold, but who cares because the cheesecake is yummy. It's really rich, which is probably a good thing because otherwise I'd probably eat it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by punkypower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Turned out great! Was a real crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I brought this cheesecake to work and everyone raved about it! Four people specifically said it was the best cheesecake they had ever had. I also had a post-it note on my computer that said "that was the worst crappiest, despicable, delicious, awesome, incredibly yummiest cake I've ever had!" I think that says it all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
WOW, If i could, I would give this recipe 10 stars. I made it for a church function last night, and I had people coming up to me all night telling me how fabulous it was, one girl scraped the bottom of the platter and showed me she had to o that just to get a taste. another man ate his, and his wife's peice, and tried to steal some one elses! I must have said thank you 100 times. I Used chocolate graham cracker for the crust, milk chocolate intead of semi-sweet, and baked it in a water bath. I was perfect. I cut it first into slices ( so it would be easier to serve) then I melted some more caramel, and some chocolate and alternates swirling them over the cut peices, which worked out nicely becuase it oozed down into the slices and made it taste even yummier, and It looked prettier than if I had to cut it already decorated! thnak you so much for this reipe, definetly making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
It's well worth the slightly lengthy (and possibly messy) prep time. I used chocolate graham crackers for the crust and dark chocolate for the cake itself, and it was a huge hit at the party I made it for. The pecan-caramel layer is hard to cut through if you don't have a good serving knife, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States