Chocolate Caramel Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
One of the best cheesecake recipes I have ever made. Make extra caramel mixture to pour in the bottom as well as on top to make a nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This is a great cheesecake! I've made it twice now. The first time, I followed the recipe exactly. The second time, I used 45 caramels, 5 tbsp half & half, and 1 cup toasted pecans. It gives you a little more filling to spread around and I love the toasted pecan flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This is a delicious recipe. I did not find it too hard to make, and the end result was delicious!! It seems as though I had to cook it a bit longer than it called for, but that may vary from oven to oven. It is a delicious rich chocolate cheesecake with a scrumptious layer of caramels and pecans. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by S Griffin
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I made this for Christmas and my family RAVED about it! The different things I did to the recipe are as follows: 1) I used a whole bag of caramels (minus a couple for snacking ;) ) instead of 30. So I doubled the milk too. I think that helped the caramel to not be too hard in the end. 2) I used chocolate graham crackers instead of regular for the crust. 3) I used a whole bag of graham crackers (they come in two separate bags within the box) instead of just a cup. I never have enough crust. So I added another 1/4 cup of butter to the crust. 4) I didn't 'chill' the caramel/crust, I just left it sitting out on the counter for a few hours before adding the filling. 5) I used 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips and 1/2 cup Wilton's semi-sweet chocolate buds for the chocolate to go in the cheesecake. 6) Lastly, I topped of the cheesecake with some caramel sundae topping and mini semi-sweet morsels. It was beautiful! Other than that, I did as the recipe said. Mine didn't crack at all and it wasn't that difficult to cut through the caramel layer. Of course it was a little tougher than your average crust, but not that hard. I, personally, found it VERY sweet, but I'm giving it a 5 because every person told me it was "incredible" and my sister told me, "This is really good fancy restaurant quality!" I can't imagine serving it with more caramel sauce...it was sweet enough! I will definately make it again since everyone loved it so. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S Griffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Delish!! Everybody raved about this cheesecake. I did use a little extra caramel. The caramel layer is so yummy it tastes like something a little different than just plane caramel. People kept asking me "what is in that curst?" Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
My husband made this the other night and it was great, the only thing is the crust, it was so hard to eat. The caramel was hard to cut through too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Made this cheesecake for Thanksgiving dinner with my in-laws and was a big hit. But made small changes to the recipe though. I melted the caramels with a lot more milk and used almond slivers and the much more spreadable mixture is nicer on top of the cake instead of on the crust. Next time, I'll make this with a Oreo cookies. This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIJADE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Unbelievably delicious (and easy)! Thank you so much. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I made this for a coworker and everyone that had a piece loved it! I did not have any problem with the caramel layer being hard to cut through and I made extra caramel sauce to pour over the cheesecake which was so good! My one friend said that it was a nice balance of sweetness as the chocolate cheesecake wasn't overwhelmingly sweet . The only substitution that I did was I used shortbread cookies for the crust instead of graham cracker crumbs and used only one tablespoon of suger in the crust. I like the cookie crust as it seems to stay softer when baked and doesn't get hard. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conneautville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Albion, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
This was excellent! I loved that it only took 3 packages cream cheese. Next time, I will try it with an Oreo crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae Sattazahn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States