Chocolate Caramel Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This is a delicious recipe. I did not find it too hard to make, and the end result was delicious!! It seems as though I had to cook it a bit longer than it called for, but that may vary from oven to oven. It is a delicious rich chocolate cheesecake with a scrumptious layer of caramels and pecans. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by S Griffin
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I made this for Christmas and my family RAVED about it! The different things I did to the recipe are as follows: 1) I used a whole bag of caramels (minus a couple for snacking ;) ) instead of 30. So I doubled the milk too. I think that helped the caramel to not be too hard in the end. 2) I used chocolate graham crackers instead of regular for the crust. 3) I used a whole bag of graham crackers (they come in two separate bags within the box) instead of just a cup. I never have enough crust. So I added another 1/4 cup of butter to the crust. 4) I didn't 'chill' the caramel/crust, I just left it sitting out on the counter for a few hours before adding the filling. 5) I used 1/2 cup milk chocolate chips and 1/2 cup Wilton's semi-sweet chocolate buds for the chocolate to go in the cheesecake. 6) Lastly, I topped of the cheesecake with some caramel sundae topping and mini semi-sweet morsels. It was beautiful! Other than that, I did as the recipe said. Mine didn't crack at all and it wasn't that difficult to cut through the caramel layer. Of course it was a little tougher than your average crust, but not that hard. I, personally, found it VERY sweet, but I'm giving it a 5 because every person told me it was "incredible" and my sister told me, "This is really good fancy restaurant quality!" I can't imagine serving it with more caramel sauce...it was sweet enough! I will definately make it again since everyone loved it so. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S Griffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Delish!! Everybody raved about this cheesecake. I did use a little extra caramel. The caramel layer is so yummy it tastes like something a little different than just plane caramel. People kept asking me "what is in that curst?" Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
My husband made this the other night and it was great, the only thing is the crust, it was so hard to eat. The caramel was hard to cut through too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Made this cheesecake for Thanksgiving dinner with my in-laws and was a big hit. But made small changes to the recipe though. I melted the caramels with a lot more milk and used almond slivers and the much more spreadable mixture is nicer on top of the cake instead of on the crust. Next time, I'll make this with a Oreo cookies. This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
Unbelievably delicious (and easy)! Thank you so much. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I made this for a coworker and everyone that had a piece loved it! I did not have any problem with the caramel layer being hard to cut through and I made extra caramel sauce to pour over the cheesecake which was so good! My one friend said that it was a nice balance of sweetness as the chocolate cheesecake wasn't overwhelmingly sweet . The only substitution that I did was I used shortbread cookies for the crust instead of graham cracker crumbs and used only one tablespoon of suger in the crust. I like the cookie crust as it seems to stay softer when baked and doesn't get hard. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conneautville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Albion, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
This was excellent! I loved that it only took 3 packages cream cheese. Next time, I will try it with an Oreo crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae Sattazahn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I may have to come back and edit this later because the cheesecake is still in the oven, but WHOA! this may be another winner. I was inspired to try this recipe because a couple of weeks ago I went to The Cheesecake Factory for the first time. While there I shared a piece of the most delectable dessert my tastebuds have ever had the pleasure of trying: White Chocolate Caramel Macadamia Nut Cheesecake. Well, this recipe sounds pretty close to that one, I think, with a couple of substitutions, and will be perfect for a going-away party for one of my daughter's teachers... I've used macadamia nuts instead of pecans. And, instead of completely mixing the chocolate with the cheesecake filling, I spooned 1/2 the filling onto the crust and caramel mixture; on top of that, I spooned 3 T melted chocolate and marbled it w/ a knife; I poured the remaining filling into the pan, spooned and marbled another 3-4 T chocolate. Voila! Beautiful! Also, and I know how silly it is considering how full of fat and calories this dessert is, I didn't want a trans-fat-laden crust: I crushed some Newman's Own organic alphabet cookies for the crust instead of using regular graham crackers. I can't wait to see how it turns out! Once it's done and cooled, I plan on piping some homemade vanilla and chocolate whipped cream around the edges and garnishing the middle with some roasted macadamia nuts and a little more whipped cream. I'm hoping to post a picture when it's ready. :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Manitowish Waters, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2007
Wow, this cheesecake was a monster hit at a get-together with some family and friends. I already have requests to make it again. The tip of placing the pan of water and cooling slowly in the oven was spot on! I have rarely seen a prettier cheesecake. I would highly recommend this recipe .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TalaMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States