Chocolate Caramel Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
In my book, this cheesecake gets a 5 for taste but also a 5 for difficulty. The cheesecake is awesome -- especially when topped with whipped cream and a caramel drizzle. Carmelizing the sugar though has been a real challenge. It seems to dry out and become flaky sugar before browning. After trying several times, I finally cooked it in a non-stick pan with a lid on it (to retain the moisture) for about 30 minutes. Then I poured it into a large stainless steel skillet and within a few minutes it was browned. I also had a problem with my pan leaking -- even though I wrapped it in foil. I discovered I needed the extra large foil so that it can be totally wrapped with one sheet rather than two. But, I dumped the cheesecake upside down, set it in the fridge uncovered for a day or so and the crust dried out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I am going to be making this for the third time later this week for two birthdays at work (they both requested this recipe). Hopefully this time I will do it correctly, the first two times I screwed up and didn't have the right chocolate (the first time I had picked up unsweetened instead of bittersweet) the second time was a combination of unsweetened and bittersweet. This time I plan on making it as called for with all bittersweet so I know what it is truly supposed to taste like. It has been very good so far (with the unintentional changes) so I am sure it will only get better. I would not say it has a distinct caramel flavor, I was expecting more, but drizzling caramel over the top after you slice it has worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Great recipe! I have made the crust with chocolate graham cracker crumbs and the cocoa, or just plain. I do prebake it for 8-10' at 350...Can bake the cheessecake at a lower temp also, just watch for it to be done. my pans do not leak, so the foil has been unnecessary. Cover with a chocolate ganache or fudge topping of your choice...and decorate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
If you follow this recipe to the 'T', it will come out perfect. It is my most requested dessert, as I have been making this recipe for over a year. It is a little on the "overly sweet" side, so I have reduced the sugar amount by half a cup each, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This was my first cheesecake, and it came out very well! The flavor was balanced and the cake creamy and smooth. A friend, who is a true gourmet chef, paid me the high compliment of hoarding the leftovers of my cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
This was by far the best cheesecake. I used oreos for crust instead and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
First time cheesecake baker! :) Found it really simple to follow and the best part everyone LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Point Comfort, Texas, USA
Living In: Victoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
My daughter wanted this (Cheese) Cake for her birthday (she gets to pick any cake...its her birthday). Our family loved it. I thought the crust was a little thick and did not use all the mixture, but besides that it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Very good; very very rich! I baked the crust for ten minutes and allowed it to cool before putting in the batter. Also, I didn't let the hot liquid chocolate/caramel cool at all before adding to the cream cheese and it worked fine. I used fat free sour cream and low fat cream cheese with no adverse results. Everyone looooved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHYUMMERS!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Inexperienced cooks: Be sure to wrap the springform pan with foil before placing it in the water bath to avoid "bathing" the cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States