Chocolate Caramel Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
In my book, this cheesecake gets a 5 for taste but also a 5 for difficulty. The cheesecake is awesome -- especially when topped with whipped cream and a caramel drizzle. Carmelizing the sugar though has been a real challenge. It seems to dry out and become flaky sugar before browning. After trying several times, I finally cooked it in a non-stick pan with a lid on it (to retain the moisture) for about 30 minutes. Then I poured it into a large stainless steel skillet and within a few minutes it was browned. I also had a problem with my pan leaking -- even though I wrapped it in foil. I discovered I needed the extra large foil so that it can be totally wrapped with one sheet rather than two. But, I dumped the cheesecake upside down, set it in the fridge uncovered for a day or so and the crust dried out nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I am going to be making this for the third time later this week for two birthdays at work (they both requested this recipe). Hopefully this time I will do it correctly, the first two times I screwed up and didn't have the right chocolate (the first time I had picked up unsweetened instead of bittersweet) the second time was a combination of unsweetened and bittersweet. This time I plan on making it as called for with all bittersweet so I know what it is truly supposed to taste like. It has been very good so far (with the unintentional changes) so I am sure it will only get better. I would not say it has a distinct caramel flavor, I was expecting more, but drizzling caramel over the top after you slice it has worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Great recipe! I have made the crust with chocolate graham cracker crumbs and the cocoa, or just plain. I do prebake it for 8-10' at 350...Can bake the cheessecake at a lower temp also, just watch for it to be done. my pans do not leak, so the foil has been unnecessary. Cover with a chocolate ganache or fudge topping of your choice...and decorate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
If you follow this recipe to the 'T', it will come out perfect. It is my most requested dessert, as I have been making this recipe for over a year. It is a little on the "overly sweet" side, so I have reduced the sugar amount by half a cup each, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This was my first cheesecake, and it came out very well! The flavor was balanced and the cake creamy and smooth. A friend, who is a true gourmet chef, paid me the high compliment of hoarding the leftovers of my cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
This was by far the best cheesecake. I used oreos for crust instead and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
First time cheesecake baker! :) Found it really simple to follow and the best part everyone LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Point Comfort, Texas, USA
Living In: Victoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
My daughter wanted this (Cheese) Cake for her birthday (she gets to pick any cake...its her birthday). Our family loved it. I thought the crust was a little thick and did not use all the mixture, but besides that it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Very good; very very rich! I baked the crust for ten minutes and allowed it to cool before putting in the batter. Also, I didn't let the hot liquid chocolate/caramel cool at all before adding to the cream cheese and it worked fine. I used fat free sour cream and low fat cream cheese with no adverse results. Everyone looooved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHYUMMERS!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camano Island, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Inexperienced cooks: Be sure to wrap the springform pan with foil before placing it in the water bath to avoid "bathing" the cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States