Chocolate Caramel Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Awesome!! After reading the other reviews, I used a smaller pan, it was an odd sized foil pan, about 10x9, this make the layers a little thicker. I lined the pan in foil (just to give me something to lift it out with) and than a piece of waxed paper. When completed, I just lifed it out and inverted it. The waxed paper pulled away really easier. I did cut it one piece at a time in 1 inch squares. They look and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This is everyone's favorite! I have been asked for this recipe many, many times. Everytime the holidays come around, people start asking, are you going to make that candy with the caramel and nougat in it? Truly better than a Snickers bar. And a tip: coat the inside of your 9x13 pan with a thin layer of non-stick cooking spray, then freeze the bottom layer before adding the other layers. That will help it not to stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alden, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I made these for Christmas, and they were a BIG hit!! Everyone loved them! My husband thought they were the best thing I made this year. I cut them in smaller squares and put them in little mini cupcake papers (the ones for candy) to dress them up a little. They looked like they were bought at the store! Thanks for a great recipe! I'll be making it every year from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TraciG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howard, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
These do taste just like a candy bar, only with this fantastic homemade taste. Yes, the ingredient list and instructions are a little bit intimidating, but it's worth it. They are rich so I make sure to cut them into tiny squares. Definitely a recipe to make if you are trying to impress someone who is a candy lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Kenmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
I made this for a Christmas party and everyone LOVED it. It is a little time consuming, but easy to make. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This was my first attempt at preparing any sort of a candy. It was a very easy recipe, a lot of steps, but easy. I loved them!! I love snickers anyway, now I can make them myself!! Definitely going to make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hot Springs, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
These are very yummy!!! Suggestion - let them warm up a little before you cut them because the chocolate top will crack and come off otherwise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This is AMAZING! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out amazing. I didn't have any trouble with the bottom layer sticking like others did. I used non-stick spray, and it came out of the pan perfectly. Definitely cut it into one inch squares because it is so rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This candy is wonderful! As everyone has said, tastes like a Snickers bar. Very intense recipe and time consuming to make and cut up, but worth it. I'll definately make it again for a holiday or special day. Put it in a nice gift tin or box and it makes a great gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
WOW!!! These were even better then everyone made them sound. They really are better then a Snickers. I made two batches and the second one I used a little less chocolate on the top. I liked that better because otherwise the chocolate seemed to overwhelm it (personal taste I guess). I also used cooking spray on the first batch but I think I over did it because you could taste the "PAM" flavor on some of the pieces. So be careful to "lightly" spray it. Next time I am going to try some wax paper as others suggested. I didn't have a hard time cutting them I just used a really sharp knife. Don't be intimated by all the steps. I just filled the sink with soapy water and while I was waiting for each step to set in the fridge I washed everything I had just used. It seems like a lot of steps but they are really quick and easy and don't seem that bad when your into it. Even if this was really hard to make I would still do it because it is so worth it!!! Thank you Thank you for such an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States