Chocolate Caramel Candy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
I've made this recipe lots of times and although I would agree it is time consuming, everyone loves it when I make it. Just one tip to shorten the time a little. I use the microwave to melt the chocolate layers and the caramel layer. Just check your chips after every 30 seconds (stirring each time you check). Do not overcook chocolate in the microwave! I hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
The candy was delicious, but a bit messy. Since it must be kept refridgerated, if it was not consumed immediately, the caramel would begin to melt if at room temperature for more then 5 minutes. I will make again for a party at home, but not to take to work, school , etc due to the gooey-ness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I enjoyed this. As far as getting the bottom layer up, I found that leaving it out of the fridge at room temp for 20 minutes helped. I also wish the chocolate layers were a bit thicker. The caramel oozed out a lot when left out to serve at my gathering. Maybe next time, I won't use quite as much of the whipping cream, then it will be thicker and hold its shape. Overall, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Yummy! It is a lot of work but it is worth all of it. Next time I make it though I am going to cut back on the peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
This is an outstanding recipe. I was able to make the bottom layer and the top layer by melting in the microwave for several minutes on defrost. This candy makes everyone rave and ask for your recipe ! Thanks Merry CHRISTmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCRIBEFORGOD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hannibal, Missouri, USA
Living In: Monroe City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
This dessert was soooo good!!! Everyone loved it and asked for the recipie. I loved it myself. This stuff is very rich so make sure you cut the peices very small. This will definitely be something I make every Thanksgiving. And a lot in-between too!!! :o) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
OH MY GOD. No one could stop eating this stuff! I've resigned myself to only making it once a year around the holidays so I have the rest of the year to lose the weight I gain by eating half the tray! This is probably the best candy I've ever made. Everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
WAYYYYY TOO SWEET!!!! I didn't have a problem taking the candy out of the pan, however, it is rather thin and messy. We had to eat it with a fork, my girls who are big chocolate lovers, didn't even finish their small piece. I won't be making this again, but I would recommend that others try a graham cracker crust or something that allows this to be more manageable. Each layer tasted great as I was making it, but all together is just too much for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
We lined the greased pan with some plastic wrap (Saran type product). It was then very easy to gently lift the entire candy out of the pan. I placed it on a larger cookie sheet so it was easier to cut into bite sized pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
OMG!!!! This candy is sooooooooo good!! It tastes like snickers bars!! Everyone (and I mean everyone) that had a piece wanted the recipe. A+++++ This is definitely a new addition to my christmas candies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA
Living In: Hilton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Chocolate Covered Potato Chips

Crispy, salty potato chips dunked in chocolate. Who’d even try to eat just one?

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States