Chocolate Caramel Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
These are the best brownies I have ever made (even if they are not the prettiest! I made a few changes. I reduced the chocolate chips to 1 1/4 cups which was plenty, I reduced the carmel to 10 ozs, I used pecan 'chips' (because not all my kids are nut lovers and don't like hunks of nuts in desserts) and I reduced the cooking time by 8 minutes because we like our brownies on the gooey side. I agree with other reviewers that getting the carmel covered takes some time and skill, but it's worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noreen White

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
These were exceptional. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
These are great! I had a little difficulty with the top. You have to press the batter VERY thin to cover the top of all the brownies, which is a bit time consuming. I did not make any changes to the recipe. They taste better than they look in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
These are my go-to brownies--I've made them dozens of times. As other reviewers have said--follow the recipe. Also, I usually bake them hours (if not a day) before I need them. The extra time makes it much easier to cut them; otherwise, you might have a gooey mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
These are very dangerous brownies, they are way too delish. I made them for several people at Christmas on a lark, never made them before, and they all came back a week later cursing me for making them gain pounds and asking me to make more. These are very good but I would adjust the recipe next time to use a little less caramel and use all semi-sweet chips. The caramel already sugars the brownies heavily, you don't need the extra sweetness of milk chocolate. I will also save out some of the melted chocolate to pour a thin layer on top to finish it. And maybe a little more nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
My Godmother gave me this recipe years ago and I have yet to meet someone who doesn't LOVE it. My fiance is a brownie fiend and he always requests these instead of cake for his birthday. The only thing we do different is we don't add pecans. There are very few times when I feel it is necessary to add nuts to a recipe, and this is not one of them, but if you're one of those people who loves pecans/walnuts/etc in their brownies you'll probably love this recipe just as it is. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenBaking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Every year since the 1980's, my kids now adults with their own kids, beg me to fix these luscious bars at Christmas. They take a while...but definitely worth it. I do use semi-sweet chocolate chips instead and only 1 1/2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I got this recipe from my husbands grandma before she died. So we called it Grandma Brownies! The difference (it does make a difference), is i used 3/4 cup margarine (oleo back in the day) not butter! And i use sweetened condensed milk (usually). When doing sweetened condensed milk it is 1/3 for 'kraft' caramels and 1/3 c with the cake mixture! And of course we freeze them! Don't tell anyone our secret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I don't normally rate recipes low since I often "tweak" them so much, but I followed this one completely and it was a waste! My brownies turned out very greasy with an "undercooked-like" texture, even though I did not use a glass pan and I cooked them exactly as long as the recipe called for. The taste couldn't even save the texture, as it wasn't anything to write home about either! Thank goodness I had the sense to do a trial run batch before taking them to my in-laws' house for Thanksgiving as I'd planned! I will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nerdymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gravois Mills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lake Ozark, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Great. Very sweet but very good. I used too much of the batter on the bottom. I could not cover the top but it turned out good anyway. Don't spend too much time trying to cover the top of the cake, it will be ok anyway. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hantsport, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 250) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States