Chocolate Caramel Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I would rate this 4 and 1/2 stars. It would have been a 5 but the batter is very difficult to work with and it takes a long time. Those are my only complaints. I had them for a cook out and served them with coffee ice cream on top. mmmmm! everyone raved about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
This was very interesting to work with. First off I want to let everyone know that I made the mistake of using 2 cake mixes instead of one and had to double up on all the other ingredients. This is what happends when you have a 2 year old in the kitchen with you! Anyway after this I only kept the amount of choc. chips and caramel the same and it came out great. The dough was very thick and hard to spread. This is why I think it was good that I made the mistake of using 2 cake mixes. It was easier to cover the bottom of pan. Use a metal pan...trust me! It was ready in 21 minutes and very rich. I used a triple chocolate betty crocker cake mix and a devil food cake mix. It was really really sweet. So be warned! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Loved them! Forget the teaspoons and smashing. Put the last of the batter in the freezer- and then when bottom is done dump the chilled batter on to a large sheet of wax paper. Cover with another sheet and finger press or use a rolling pin to flatten. You can use the wax paper to flip the thin sections on to your hand and place on top of the brownie. The first time I made them I refrigerated the batter and only finger smashed small amounts between the wax paper. The second time I dumped all of it and used a rolling pin. Fast and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
These were really good. However, the caramel layer sunk to the bottom and made the whole thing kind of runny. Maybe my bottom layer wasn't completely done? Not sure. But they were yummy anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
I got a recipe very similar to this about 9 years ago. But mine called for sweetened condenced milk. This is by far the most requested thing i bake. And i bake a lot! The brownies are just amazing. Try this if you havn't already, it's worth the time it take to mix everything up. Instead of peeling oodles of wrapped caramels, i just buy the 10 bag of caramel bits at the store. I'll add 1/3 cup sweetened condensed milk to the cake batter, and then add the rest of the can to the caramels and microwave and stir them until they are melted. If you melt them on the stove and the bottom burns, no biggie, you can use the burnt caramel anyway, it's all still amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri Lehmbeck
Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
These were just okay. I'm always leery of making recipes using a boxed cake mix because the end result usually tastes a little bit artificial to me, and this recipe is no exception. I love the idea of filling a brownie with chocolate chips and caramel, but it would have been a thousand times better with a "real", from-scratch brownie recipe rather than a boxed cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
These tasted better than they looked. I made them for a aprty and ended up not taking them but wish that I had as I can not stop from eating them at home :) It seems like there's not enough batter to cover the bottom and top layers of the brownies...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joebeckf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
These were pretty good, but mine did not turn out like the picture and weren't 'to die for'. The brownie part was much lighter in color. I think they would be a lot better if I use a Devil's Food Cake mix instead of German Chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This is a little extra work for a brownie, but according to the family it is worth it! I followed the recipe as written, but needed additional cooking time as it was not done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Here is a great twist on this recipe... try using a yellow cake mix in place of the german chocolate cake mix- I'm telling you it's to die for!! Follow the recipe exactly the same, just use a yellow cake mix instead! enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States