Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Everyone really liked this cheesecake. I made a couple small changes, I used chocolate chips (probably 10 oz) instead of the squares and I didn't use any whipping cream. I also used 4 tsp of instant coffee in 1/2 cup water, it didn't have a strong coffee taste but a nice hint. I used oreo cookies for the crust, I always do, they stick so much easier. I also added 2TBSP of flour because a few reviews said it was creamier than classic cheesecake. Mine came out with a great cheesecake texture and flavor, I dropped a few chocolate chips on the top before baking and then after it was done I put a circle of fresh raspberries around the top and drizzled melted chocolate chips back and forth, very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Excellent cheesecake. My niece wanted something for her 19th birthday with chocolate, and this worked great. I replaced the topping with a ganache recipe found on the site. Only 2 changes I would make in the future are both with the crust. I love cinnamon, but didn't think it worked well with the crust. Also, crust had a bit too much butter in it and barely enough for a 9" pan, I'd keep the amount of butter the same but would add another 1/2 to 3/4 cup of crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THRobinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Exeter, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This recipe was amazing. I prepared it just as it is written except I also put a pan of water under the cheesecake to help reduce cracking. This was the first cheesecake I ever made and I loved it! It could have had more coffee flavor, perhaps I'll try a stronger expresso next time. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I give this recipe 5 stars! Very easy directions, just follow it and your cheesecake will come out wonderful. My husband, daughter and son loved it. You can taste the Kahlua, but not so much where it over powers the rest of the flavors. Cut out parchment paper to put in the bottom of the pan, it makes it easier for it you to put it on a fancy cake dish later on. Also, do add the Kahlua in the whipping cream, it adds an extra touch to it. Only one thing, you have to double the crust for a 9 inch cheesecake. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This cheesecake is fantastic. I served it for Thanksgiving along with 3 other desserts. Everyone raved about it, and I have had requests for the recipe. I made it just as written. The only thing I would change is the crust. I would double the crust as another reviewer recommended because it was too thin and difficult to remove from the pan. It tasted amazing so I think doubling it would take care of the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I made a "tester" cheesecake before I make one for an event. Altered the recipe a bit by using coffee flavoring instead of vanilla extract, doubled the instant coffee mixture instead of using liqueur, used vanilla cookie wafers and some instant coffee granules (no cinnamon) for crust (doubled the crust after reading another review)topped with a poured dark chocolate ganache and melted white chocolate design for fun; this was gone in a hurry, devoured by men who aren't necessarily black coffee drinkers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Unfortunately, I am one of the few in the minority with this recipe. Although the cheesecake tasted good, after 45 minutes in the oven, it still jiggled - a lot - but I followed the directions, turned off the heat, and left the oven door open. It did firm up somewhat in the fridge but was very mushy. I was never able to get it off the bottom of the springform pan and thus just served it on the pan. Could not get a good "slice," of course. Oh, and during baking, oil from the butter and cream cheese oozed all over the bottom of my oven and smoked up the entire house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sugarmints
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I made this as a birthday cake for my boyfriend and it was lovely. I used dark chocolate and I find that gives it the right amount of sweetness. I suggest doubling the crust as the crust to cheese ratio was kind of unbalanced - there was very little crust compared to the rest of the batter. Also, make sure you grease the pan and bottom to ensure that the crust comes out nicely. I suggest lining the pan with parchment paper on the bottom and on the sides to get a beautiful shape. Other tips: MAKE SURE EVERYTHING IS AT ROOM TEMPERATURE! This is critical for a smooth and lump-free batter. Also, I baked it in a water bath for 45 minutes and left the cake in the oven with it turned off. No cracks whatsoever and the whole cake was very smooth. I think the sour cream really helped with the texture. I also used espresso instead of instant coffee powder which gives it a subtle coffee flavour. I topped it with some dark chocolate shavings and raspberries and it was just so yummy and decadent. I really recommend this recipe for parties or just if you want to impress people. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarmints

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Made this as written. I liked it well enough (not blown away) but my family did not care for it much. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This turned out fabulous! It was my second time making cheesecake. I did double the recipe for the crust though. I also used the Via instant coffee from Starbucks in Italian Roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kreativess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Chocolate Cookie Cheesecake

Show-stopping cheesecake stars cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States