Chocolate-Candy Cane Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
These did not taste good. Very dry and not at all chocolatey. But, they looked cute and were fun for the kids to decorate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Just average... It's a lot of work, and the flavor is really kind of bland. I took these to a holiday party at work, and it was the first time I have taken something and the serving plate didn't come back empty. People let them sit.... I won't make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Awesome!! Liked the cookies better without the peppermint crushed candy, also tried some of the Andes mint chocolate chips on top but we liked them the best with just the white choc. frosting on them. Delish and so festive!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I tried these from the Kraft Recipe in a magazine so I didn't see all these great tips- I followed the recipe exactly for the cookies and the dough was oily and the cookies did flatten out a LOT - so there was not much candy cane shape. I used a bag of white choc. chips in lieu of the melted white chocolate - just microwaved it and drizzled with a plastic ziploc. We all thought the taste was really good - not too chocolatey! I used round peppermint candy for the topping - big mistake! They were so hard to crush. I will make these again as follows - 1. Round cookies, drizzle the white chocolate on, and cover with crushed candy canes (which are thinner than the hard candies).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
My doughter loved to make this cookies, and the dough tastes good, but the crushed peppermint candies didn't work that well. Instead we used sprinckles on top, and they looked more festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bogota, Distrito Capital De Bogota, Colombia
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
After reading reviews I made these changes which resulted in a great cookie. Neighbors raved about them. Reduced cream cheese by half (less spreading "slugs"). As a choc-o-holic, the mild chocolate taste wouldn't do! Replaced 4 squares of chocolate with 3.5 oz. bar of good quality dark (I used Lindt 85%) chocolate. Lastly reduced baking to 8 minutes. The flavor was worthy, and they kept their form. Made some pretzel shapes for shipping (thought the delicate cane shape might break). Next time will do 1/2 with dark chocolate drizzle for the chocolate lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
These were pretty easy to throw together, I did refrigerate the dough before working with it because I wanted them to hold their shape. I also used Peppermint crunch baking chips to drizzle on top, no need to crush peppermint candies :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Idyllwild, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
My family loves these cookies. I refrigerated the dough after shaping it into balls but still had the slug-shape problem. Also, it drives me nuts when a recipe says to divide the dough into X number of balls. It's much easier for me if the recipe says to shape the dough into balls of a certain size. I found that balls of about 3/4 of an inch were the right size, though I had to make the cookie canes a bit larger, about 4 inches. No more slug shapes, and I had no trouble getting these off the cookie sheet. I also used more crushed peppermint candies to ramp up the peppermint flavor. My husband doesn't like candy, so I made some of the cookies without the peppermint, and he loved them. Finally, I ran out of white chocolate, so I made some with melted semi-sweet chocolate--not as pretty, but my family raved about them. I'll make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Re-reviewing this after playing around with the recipe a bit. It seems that my first time around was a lucky fluke and every time since I've ended up with the telltale greasy slug shape. With this latest batch I cut the cream cheese down to 4 oz and added 1/4 cup cocoa powder (I could have done 1/8 cup, but I have a group of chocolate lovers). I still had to chill the dough before baking, but this time they came out more appealing-looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
I don't know what the picture is made of, but it's not this recipe. The cookies flattened out - like the other reviewers said they are sort of 'sluggish' looking. I refrigerated the dough to make them easier to work with, but I ended up leaving them in round balls also. The flavor was pretty good though, which is why I gave it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States