Chocolate Candy Bar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2003
For anyone that loves chocolate and fabulous very-easy-to-make-and-spread frosting, this takes the cake!! :) My only suggestion is to use three 9" layer cake pans instead of the 8". The 8" pans make too narrow a cake in diameter, and too high (would not even fit in my glass cake dome holder). The 9" pans make for a much more attractive and large, more normal appearing cake. And because the cake layers are just a tad thinner, the frosting in between the layers is thicker -- looks beautiful when it's cut and tastes terrific! Just remember to bake the 9" layers a few minutes less and test with a toothpick. And be sure to use a nice amount frosting between the layers -- the recipe makes plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
This cake is so extremely moist and the frosting is wonderful! The only thing I would add is some vanilla or other extract to the cream cheese base for the frosting to give it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Everyone always asks me to make this cake. I made a GREAT CHANGE, substitute the crushed candy with Oreo cookies (half of a package) into the icing.... You're cake will be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
This is awesome!! I used 3 9" pans as suggested and it was great. My husband does not like nuts, so I used chopped Skor bars, saving a bit to sprinkle on top. Definitely will make again...and again...and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Schoharie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by whitney
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I've made this cake several times for baby showers, and it has been a MAJOR hit every time. It is super easy and has a nice heavy texture. I've only made the cake with 9 inch pans, and there was barely enough batter for 2 layers, so when I needed a larger cake, I just doubled the recipe. I also make sure I make the frosting at least 1 night before I serve the cake because it takes some time for the sugar to fully dissolve, but it is perfect the next day. I've also used white chocolate shavings to decorate the top of the cake and it makes it really classy, professional looking. No one has to know that it started as a mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Young
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Delicious cake and the frosting is amazing! I made this recipe for a friends birthday, and it received rave reviews. I changed the recipe a bit because my friend requested chocolate cake with chocolate frosting. So, I cut each of the three layers in half and frosted every other layer with the candy bar frosting and chocolate on the others. Then I frosted the outside of the cake with chocolate. To decorate I used hershey's hugs because of the brown and white stripes. It matched the inside and was a neat effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
A huge hit! Made this for a birthday party and people were coming back for seconds! Frosting is awesome and the cake was so moist! I used skor bars as well and also 2 8x8 pand and it was perfect. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2001
This cake is very delicious. It is very easy to make, and the most complicated part is the layering, which is not difficult at all. I made this cake for work and received many compliments. i.e. This is the best cake I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I made this once for a potluck at work and now, I'm not "allowed" to ever bring anything else except this. Everyone loved it! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
I made this for my mom's birthday & got SO many compliments on it! I had to print off the recipe for my grandma. I plan on making it again for my son's first birthday with some homemade ice cream! Instead of using pecans & chocolate bars, I chopped up Skor bars & added those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States