Chocolate Candy Bar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I followed the recipe as is and it was honestly the best cake ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This cake was good but I didn't like the frosting. The taste of the cream cheese was totally lost and it just had a sugary taste. It's worth working with, perhaps cutting back on the sugar (maybe omitting the white sugar, as there's plenty of confectionary), or adding a teaspoon of vanilla to give it a 'real' taste instead of just sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Wow this cake is so yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This cake is awesome. The frosting is fantastic and not to sweet. I did make some changes. I made the cake exactly as the recipe said, but I poured it into 3-9" pans. Make sure you mix the batter with a mixer for the entire 4 minutes, and you will have enough batter for the 3 pans. When the cakes came out of the oven and cooled , I cut each cake in half to make a 6 layer cake. I doubled the frosting recipe since i had so many layers. Than I layered cake, frosting and crushed up heath bars and kept repeating until all the layers was done. Frosted the entire cake and sprinkled the top with crushed heath bar. It was GREAT. Definately better than expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
By far, the moistest chocolate cake I have ever eaten, but for me the icing was a little too sweet. I thought it took away from the deliciousness of the cake. The next time I make the cake, because i will definitely be making that again, I think I might just use a can of whipped chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajarrett09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KatieKat43
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I made this for my dad's birthday and my WHOLE family was blown away! They raved for days and when they came back to the house a few days later, they were VERY disappointed there was none left. It's very rich and hard to eat a lot if you eat a full dinner beforehand. So I suggest skipping dinner and going STRAIGHT to dessert!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieKat43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This cake is AMAZING!! I made it for my husbands birthday. He LOVED it! I used chopped Reeses instead of the milk chocolate...MMmm! Definitely freeze the candy bar before chopping. I only had an 8 ounce container of whipped topping and it still turned out great! My birthday is in a couple of days and I'm going to make it again for my self!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
"Wow" this was a hit at the Fire Hall the men loved it. I was going to use Butter finger but could not find the king size bar's so I used Reese Peanut Butter cups it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLOWERGIRL1365

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This cake is amazing!!!I used kit cats since that's my husband's favorite candy instead of milk chocolate candy bars, and it was so tasty. I also had 2 9-inch pans, so that's what I used instead of 3 8-inch pans. My cooking time for the cakes was a little bit longer, but 5-10 minutes. However, this is an awesome cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I have to say I was a little disappointed with this recipe. The cake itself was delicious, but the frosting was just to sweet! If I make it again I would cut out at least half of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Iszkiewicz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allegany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States