Chocolate Candy Bar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I made this cake this past weekend for a party and I am sorry to say I didn't like it. I think it was the frosting, it was just to sweet and just had an odd flavor to me. Everyone else seemed to like it ( or were just being kind) so I did rate it four stars. If you don't mind cream cheesy, super sweet frosting ( I even cut the white sugar back 1/4 cup) then you would like this cake. A word to the wise * do not* use Pillsbury brand cake mix with the pudding in the box and add the additional box of pudding to the cake batter. I almost burned my mixer out while mixing it...it was sooo thick and heavy it climbed up my entire mixer ( the cake part still tasted good however).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This cake is worthy of using icing tips to dress up the frosting as it so moist and delicious. It reminded me of a suzy Q only way better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was good, but the Too Much chocolate cake was better in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
The cake wasn't anything special but I did like the frosting. I made in a 9 x 13 and also could make 6 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
i used yellow cake mix , instead of chocolate ( all i had ), then added poppy seeds & coconut to the frosting. very yummmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabriella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goldendale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Delicious and very easy. I only used 1/4 c. of granulated sugar in the frosting because many reviewers said it was too sweet, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I followed the recipe as is and it was honestly the best cake ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This cake was good but I didn't like the frosting. The taste of the cream cheese was totally lost and it just had a sugary taste. It's worth working with, perhaps cutting back on the sugar (maybe omitting the white sugar, as there's plenty of confectionary), or adding a teaspoon of vanilla to give it a 'real' taste instead of just sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Wow this cake is so yummy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This cake is awesome. The frosting is fantastic and not to sweet. I did make some changes. I made the cake exactly as the recipe said, but I poured it into 3-9" pans. Make sure you mix the batter with a mixer for the entire 4 minutes, and you will have enough batter for the 3 pans. When the cakes came out of the oven and cooled , I cut each cake in half to make a 6 layer cake. I doubled the frosting recipe since i had so many layers. Than I layered cake, frosting and crushed up heath bars and kept repeating until all the layers was done. Frosted the entire cake and sprinkled the top with crushed heath bar. It was GREAT. Definately better than expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States