Chocolate Candy Bar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I made this for work and the guys went crazy over it. Me being me I tweeked it a bit. I used a pillsbury devil's food cake mix and followed the box directions for a 13x9 cake. I poked holes in the top of cake and cut into 2 layers and covered each layer with a coat of caramel topping followed by a coat of fudge topping followed by a coat of cream cheese frosting.My version is 8 oz. cream cheese softened,1/4 cup real butter softened,2and 1/2 cups confection sugar,1 tablespoon plus real vanilla, and 1 tablespoon milk if frosting is too thick. The top layer was thin covered with a layer of cut up mini snickers and milky way bars. I used a half a package of each and then drizzled more caramel and fudge topping over them.Then refrigerated over night until serving.This version is best done the day before you need the cake!A coworker said it was sinfully good!thus my variation I call sinful chocolate candy bar cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abbeville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
My son calls this the blizzard cake. The icing is fantastic followed by a moist and wonderfully chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I'll be honest, when I first read the ingredient list for the frosting, I had some misgivings...but the reviews convinced me to give it a try. I'm so glad that I did! I'll admit that I skipped all of the extra calories with the cake itself, and just made the box cake as normal. For the frosting, I used 3 regular butterfingers (chopped/crumbled) and used chopped hazelnuts rather than pecans (that's what I had on hand!), also I left out the granulated sugar and just used 1.5 of powdered sugar. I tasted the frosting and was immediately hooked! YUM! I brought the cake to a work function in December and have been requested to bring it 3 more times since then. I prefer to make this and let it sit in the fridge overnight. Try this - you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANDI7920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking-n-MS
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Baked in a 9X13 glass baking dish. Covered top of cake with icing. Chopped up Reese's cups and pecans for topping. The birthday boy and my family LOVED this cake. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking-n-MS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I made this for my husband's birthday and it was a hit with everybody. The cake was very moist and the icing was just enough (sweet, amount, etc). I did omit the 1/2 cup of sugar and just used the confectioner's sugar due to the many reviews stating it was too sweet with it. I used reese's cups. Freezing them beforehand was brilliant and supereasy. My husband is not a huge fan of sweets but said that he really liked this cake. I think next time I will try it with snickers just to see if it will work. Thank you for sharing this recipe....it is now in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I must say this was a great cake everyone loved it. I made a couple of small changes: I used chocolate pudding instead of vanilla, I did not have frozen whipped topping, so I made my own out of heavy whipping cream and sugar. I also added cocoa powder to the frosting. After frosting the cake I made chocolate syrup out of bitter chocolate, semi-sweet chips and heavy whipping cream and drizzled all over cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This cake is absolutely delicious! I used the white and milk chocolate kisses chopped for the topping and in the whipped topping, and it came out great! I added a tsp of vanilla extract to the icing and left out the granulated sugar, and it was still plenty sweet! I will probably make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I make this recipe anytime I have to make a cake! It turns out every time. SOOO Yummy. I use chocolate pudding mix instead of vanilla for more chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I have made this cake for years and my family tells me I have to make this cake every Thanksgiving. So this year will be no different. Instead of using Pecans and chocolate candy, I use Heath bars. SOOOOO GOOOD. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was really good. You can really change it up too! I have made it the way the recipe says and then I made it with cherries in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States