Chocolate Candy Bar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This cake is absolutely delicious! I used the white and milk chocolate kisses chopped for the topping and in the whipped topping, and it came out great! I added a tsp of vanilla extract to the icing and left out the granulated sugar, and it was still plenty sweet! I will probably make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I make this recipe anytime I have to make a cake! It turns out every time. SOOO Yummy. I use chocolate pudding mix instead of vanilla for more chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I have made this cake for years and my family tells me I have to make this cake every Thanksgiving. So this year will be no different. Instead of using Pecans and chocolate candy, I use Heath bars. SOOOOO GOOOD. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was really good. You can really change it up too! I have made it the way the recipe says and then I made it with cherries in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I made this cake this past weekend for a party and I am sorry to say I didn't like it. I think it was the frosting, it was just to sweet and just had an odd flavor to me. Everyone else seemed to like it ( or were just being kind) so I did rate it four stars. If you don't mind cream cheesy, super sweet frosting ( I even cut the white sugar back 1/4 cup) then you would like this cake. A word to the wise * do not* use Pillsbury brand cake mix with the pudding in the box and add the additional box of pudding to the cake batter. I almost burned my mixer out while mixing it...it was sooo thick and heavy it climbed up my entire mixer ( the cake part still tasted good however).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This cake is worthy of using icing tips to dress up the frosting as it so moist and delicious. It reminded me of a suzy Q only way better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was good, but the Too Much chocolate cake was better in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
The cake wasn't anything special but I did like the frosting. I made in a 9 x 13 and also could make 6 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
i used yellow cake mix , instead of chocolate ( all i had ), then added poppy seeds & coconut to the frosting. very yummmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabriella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goldendale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Delicious and very easy. I only used 1/4 c. of granulated sugar in the frosting because many reviewers said it was too sweet, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States