Chocolate Candy Bar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by whimsyone
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
FABULOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I used Oreos instead of the candy bars and subbed the vanilla pudding for the Oreo flavored pudding! Perfect for the cookies n creme lover!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
Impressive looking cake that starts with a mix, what more could you ask for! The only change I made while making this recipe was sprinkling the top of the cake and in between the cake layers with crushed Skor/Heath bars. I personally do not care for the texture or look of icing with candy/nuts blended into it. I was a bit hesitant about the frozen whipped topping in the icing, but all together the icing ingredients made a great topping for this cake. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetbaker13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Add crushed oreo's to the icing and turned out great. Could add crushed skor or smarties to the icing and would be great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hantsport, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
delicious and so moist!!! this cake was a big hit. i added chocolate chunks to the batter to add pockets of melted chocolate as well as a oreo cream cheese icing!! so good!! (• 8 oz whipped cream cheese • 1/2 cup butter • 2 Tsp vanilla extract • 1 cup powdered sugar • ½ cup heavy whipping cream • 1 cup crushed of oreos)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joymichelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Wonderful!! Made this for my family tonight and they loved it. I made this with German chocolate cake mix and followed the directions on the box instead of this recipe. For the frosting, I used all the ingredients just a little different. I combined the sugars and cream cheese, folded in the cool whip (accidently used 8 oz), toasted the pecans and sprinkled them on top. Then topped it all off with hershey chocolate bars and reese peanubutter cups, crumbled up. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Great recipe. I had a Dark Chocolate cake mix on hand, and went with that instead of the Devil's Food. I used Butterfinger candy bars and omitted the nuts since a few of my family members aren't big on nuts. It went over very well, but several people commented on how rich the frosting was. I made exactly what the recipe called for, with the exception of the cake mix switch I mentioned earlier. Next time I would use less sugar in the frosting and probably go with a different type of candy bar. The crunch from the Butterfinger bars seemed to put some people off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SomeGeekyGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Excellent recipe!!! I always get rave reviews!!! I am going to try adding vanilla extract to the frosting the next time. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Yummy luved it the icing was great the cake was moist and if I could have eaten the whole thing I would have. Did not change the recipe at all. Also nice with just crushed oreo's, just don't over mix or the icing turns an unappealing grayish color still takes good mind you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I made this for work and the guys went crazy over it. Me being me I tweeked it a bit. I used a pillsbury devil's food cake mix and followed the box directions for a 13x9 cake. I poked holes in the top of cake and cut into 2 layers and covered each layer with a coat of caramel topping followed by a coat of fudge topping followed by a coat of cream cheese frosting.My version is 8 oz. cream cheese softened,1/4 cup real butter softened,2and 1/2 cups confection sugar,1 tablespoon plus real vanilla, and 1 tablespoon milk if frosting is too thick. The top layer was thin covered with a layer of cut up mini snickers and milky way bars. I used a half a package of each and then drizzled more caramel and fudge topping over them.Then refrigerated over night until serving.This version is best done the day before you need the cake!A coworker said it was sinfully good!thus my variation I call sinful chocolate candy bar cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abbeville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
My son calls this the blizzard cake. The icing is fantastic followed by a moist and wonderfully chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States