Chocolate Candy Bar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Frosting is the thing - makes the cake. Everyone likes the pudding in it, says it makes it moist. I think it makes it a little rubbery - but it works well when it's refrigerated. I used choc chips and it worked out fine. Toasted the pecans and it make it incredible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This is a easy recipe to follow. I follow the cake mix on the box and follow this icing. Only changes were that I used chopped walnuts but sprinkle it between the layer after i'd frost it instead of folding it into the icing. I also added chocolate curls as a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
i don't care for cake. cake is dry, canned frosting isn't good... but my boyfriend wanted cake so i searched through some recipies and found this one! THIS WAS AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!! we made half with a chocolate candy bar and half with Heath bars, and preferred the heath bar side!!! other than that no changes at all! perfect as is! can't wait to make it again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This is an awesome, delicious, moist cake. It tastes like something that should be called a "blizzard cake," as in Dairy Queen. I made this a few months ago, and my husband still talks about it all the time. I'm about to make my second one! =0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Moist! excellent flavor. Used the white cake frosting to go with it. frosting didnt have much flavor but that was okay for this sweet cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
This has been the best dessert I have made thus far. Everyone I make it for LOVES it!! Co-workers who usually don't say much came and personally told me how much they liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Design Laure'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Norcross, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
My whole family absolutly loves this recipie. I put about half of the chocolate and nuts into the frosting and put 1 and 1/2 tubs of cool whip anstead of just the one. I found that the fluffyness of the frosting offset the denceness of the cake. ABSOLUTLY wonderfull recipie. so glad i found it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I made this for the first time today, and it was delicious! I only used two layers because I didn't have three cake pans that were the same size. My food processor wouldn't chop up the chocolate so I did it with a knife, and I got a workout! I made my own whipped cream instead of buying Cool Whip. I made some chocolate curls and my daughter put them on the top of the cake..gave it a nice elegant look. I will definitely make this again! My oldest (8 years old) loves dessert as much as I do, and she ate a big piece and wanted more. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Amazing! I doubled the frosting recipe because I didn't think it was enough and I only had a little left over. You definitely have to try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiSanders79
Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This was delicious! The cake had a rich flavor that was perfect with the light flavor of the icing. I shaved chocolate on the top & made a beautiful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States