Chocolate Candy Bar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Yum!! Delicious cake...very moist. Followed recipe as-is, except I used three 9" pans because that's all I had. I also made one-and-a-half times the frosting because we like cake that way. Used Hershey bars and it was great. Might try Reece peanut butter cups next time! Will most definitely be making this cake again....and again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Delectable cake! Followed directions for cake as written except for using 3 9" pans. Of course the change in pans cut a couple of minutes off baking time. Changed the frosting by cutting back to 1/4 cup sugar and adding a tsp of vanilla. The frosting was super easy to spread. This cake was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
great cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conover, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This is the second time I've attempted adding pudding to a cake mix...I simply don't like it. Instead of tasting light and fluffy, it tastes dense and heavy. I did enjoy the concept of the candy bar cake and I liked the frosting so I'm giving it 3 stars. I made it in 3 9" pans and then layered the frosting in between without frosting the side - so pretty when cut. Will make again, but with heavy alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
i thought it was a really good cake and it was really just exellent but in stead of just pputting chocolate on top i put it in the batter too. to die for!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I have been making this cake now for a few years, only instead of the chocolate and nuts, I use chopped snickers bars. It is always requested at family gatherings, especially by my father-in-law. This last time, I made cupcakes with the frosting piped in the middle and on top, with chopped snickers on top. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Pretty good! I thought I'd undercooked the cake as it didn't rise very much. The toothpick came out of the center clean, however, and I didn't want to overcook it and dry it out. Turned out great. Really like the icing and the cake was moist and rich, almost fudgy and brownie-like. I served at a family birthday party and was told to add it to my short list of birthday cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Prissz
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Rated 5-stars for the recipe as written. Awesome and amazingly delicious. I am always asked to bring this cake… ALWAYS. If you don't have 3 baking pans just make two and then you can cut them in half when you are finished. I find dental floss works great and makes nice clean cuts. I have now started adding a package of MILK CHOCOLATE CHIPS to the batter after it is blended. As per some of the other reviewers suggestion I add crushed OREOS to the frosting mix. It is the BOMB!! With the addition of the OREOS I give it 6-stars ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This rating is for the cake only; I did not make the frosting. I made it according to the recipe, however the batter was very thick. I had some buttermilk on hand so I added about 1/3 cup to the batter. The cake baked up beautifully. It is super moist, rich, and dense. I prefer a lighter texture, but it was a delicious cake. Frosted with vanilla buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B L

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This is an awesome cake. I have made it a number of times and each time people start begging me for the recipe. I do switch it up a bit but for the most part it is the same. I 100% recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States