Chocolate Candy Bar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
great cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conover, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This is the second time I've attempted adding pudding to a cake mix...I simply don't like it. Instead of tasting light and fluffy, it tastes dense and heavy. I did enjoy the concept of the candy bar cake and I liked the frosting so I'm giving it 3 stars. I made it in 3 9" pans and then layered the frosting in between without frosting the side - so pretty when cut. Will make again, but with heavy alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
i thought it was a really good cake and it was really just exellent but in stead of just pputting chocolate on top i put it in the batter too. to die for!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I have been making this cake now for a few years, only instead of the chocolate and nuts, I use chopped snickers bars. It is always requested at family gatherings, especially by my father-in-law. This last time, I made cupcakes with the frosting piped in the middle and on top, with chopped snickers on top. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Pretty good! I thought I'd undercooked the cake as it didn't rise very much. The toothpick came out of the center clean, however, and I didn't want to overcook it and dry it out. Turned out great. Really like the icing and the cake was moist and rich, almost fudgy and brownie-like. I served at a family birthday party and was told to add it to my short list of birthday cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Prissz
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Rated 5-stars for the recipe as written. Awesome and amazingly delicious. I am always asked to bring this cake… ALWAYS. If you don't have 3 baking pans just make two and then you can cut them in half when you are finished. I find dental floss works great and makes nice clean cuts. I have now started adding a package of MILK CHOCOLATE CHIPS to the batter after it is blended. As per some of the other reviewers suggestion I add crushed OREOS to the frosting mix. It is the BOMB!! With the addition of the OREOS I give it 6-stars ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This rating is for the cake only; I did not make the frosting. I made it according to the recipe, however the batter was very thick. I had some buttermilk on hand so I added about 1/3 cup to the batter. The cake baked up beautifully. It is super moist, rich, and dense. I prefer a lighter texture, but it was a delicious cake. Frosted with vanilla buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B L

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This is an awesome cake. I have made it a number of times and each time people start begging me for the recipe. I do switch it up a bit but for the most part it is the same. I 100% recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Frosting is the thing - makes the cake. Everyone likes the pudding in it, says it makes it moist. I think it makes it a little rubbery - but it works well when it's refrigerated. I used choc chips and it worked out fine. Toasted the pecans and it make it incredible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This is a easy recipe to follow. I follow the cake mix on the box and follow this icing. Only changes were that I used chopped walnuts but sprinkle it between the layer after i'd frost it instead of folding it into the icing. I also added chocolate curls as a topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States