Chocolate Candy Bar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Photo by Kelly Young
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Delicious cake and the frosting is amazing! I made this recipe for a friends birthday, and it received rave reviews. I changed the recipe a bit because my friend requested chocolate cake with chocolate frosting. So, I cut each of the three layers in half and frosted every other layer with the candy bar frosting and chocolate on the others. Then I frosted the outside of the cake with chocolate. To decorate I used hershey's hugs because of the brown and white stripes. It matched the inside and was a neat effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
I really like this recipe. I however like some other's plan on using oreo cookie for the frosting rather than chocolate bar next time.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This cake was amazing. It stayed moist for days. I kept everything in the recipe the same except instead of using candy bars for the frosting I used half a box of mint oreos. If you like mint you will absolutely love this frosting. This recipe is great and I'm sure anything you add in for the frosting will be amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Awesome recipe---I omit the nuts because so many people have allergies. I also don't use the chocolate pieces in the frosting. I use it just between the layers and then decorate the top with chocolate curls. I have also used different flavor of cake mixes. I do add an instant pudding, a little milk and reduce the sugar in the frosting. Everyone raves about this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I made this for a quick birthday party cake for a coworker and they LOVED it! I didn't change one thing just followed the recipe. Excellent! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I made this recipe as cupcakes for my 4 your old daughters birthday party, they were a huge hit with the kids and the parents. I iced the individual cupcakes and then put one chocolate square on each one. The only change I made was I added chocolate pudding mix instead of vanilla. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Myers Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelle810

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Petoskey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
HEAVEN SENT! I've had a lot of Chocolate cake in my Days but this one, no pun intended, Really does Take The Cake"! My Baby made it for me for Mother's Day and she sure did make my day! No matter how you make it...this one is a Keeper, just like my Daughter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4girlzmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This is a wonderfully moist cake and is not too sweet. I made it in two 9-inch pans and needed to bake it about 38 minutes total. Everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Ann Steeb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hingham, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by barefootfan
Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This was VERY good. Two out of my three kids said that they thought it should be thier birthday cake next year! My husband loved it too. I did not add the nuts because of a nut allergy but it was still wonderful and the nuts weren't missed.I used two 9 inch pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barefootfan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States