Chocolate Candy Bar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Excellent! I left out the nuts just because there were going to be kids eating it and I added vanilla to the frosting. It was very tasty and is a recipe you can really adapt to your own personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This cake was a big hit! Every bit was eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Robinson Aleksovski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chadbourn, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This is fabulous - the only changes I made: Instead of nuts & candy bars, I did crushed oreo cookies (a little less than 1/2 a package), as someone else suggested. For the frosting - I added 1/2 tsp. vanilla. Excellent! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Montrose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was awesome! I used 100 grand as my choco. candy bar of choice and it was a huge hit! This cake is a show-stopper when you cut into it so get ready for the ooh's and ah's. Next time I am using butterfinger. I will make this o'er and o'er again! YUMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I made this today for my daughter's birthday and it was AWESOME! I used 3 - 9 inch round pans so the layers would be a little thinner. I also used a large (16 oz, I believe) container of Cool-Whip. I added about a tsp. of vanilla to the frosting and didn't mix the chocolate and nuts in. I had enough frosting to frost the entire cake and still plenty to pipe a border on top. Then I sprinkled the chocolate on top, inside the border...and pressed the nuts around the side of the cake! If I could have found my usb cable, I would have taken a picture! It looked PERFECT! It tasted wonderful too! I will definitely use this again and again! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Young
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Delicious cake and the frosting is amazing! I made this recipe for a friends birthday, and it received rave reviews. I changed the recipe a bit because my friend requested chocolate cake with chocolate frosting. So, I cut each of the three layers in half and frosted every other layer with the candy bar frosting and chocolate on the others. Then I frosted the outside of the cake with chocolate. To decorate I used hershey's hugs because of the brown and white stripes. It matched the inside and was a neat effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
I really like this recipe. I however like some other's plan on using oreo cookie for the frosting rather than chocolate bar next time.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This cake was amazing. It stayed moist for days. I kept everything in the recipe the same except instead of using candy bars for the frosting I used half a box of mint oreos. If you like mint you will absolutely love this frosting. This recipe is great and I'm sure anything you add in for the frosting will be amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Awesome recipe---I omit the nuts because so many people have allergies. I also don't use the chocolate pieces in the frosting. I use it just between the layers and then decorate the top with chocolate curls. I have also used different flavor of cake mixes. I do add an instant pudding, a little milk and reduce the sugar in the frosting. Everyone raves about this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westport, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I made this for a quick birthday party cake for a coworker and they LOVED it! I didn't change one thing just followed the recipe. Excellent! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States