Chocolate Candy Bar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I made this cake for the girls at work and it was a big hit. I used Butterfinger candy bars instead of chocolate bars which was so good! I made a 2 layer cake and kept it refrigerated and it's definitely a cake that needs to stay cold. Next time, I will try a dark fudge cake mix because devil's food cake is not rich enough for me. Thanks for the recipe. Can't wait to make it with other candy bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This cake by far is the best cake ever! My kids and husband rant and rave about it. Though its not the cheapest cake to make, it is the best, definately worth the extra buck! Still cheaper than store bought from the bakery, and MUCH better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This was very, very good. I did make this in two 9" cake pans and it took much longer to cook. I also used skim milk. I followed the recipe for the frosting and used all of it to frost the cake. I did use Kit Kat bars as my candy. I mixed them in with the frosting and used that for my filling between the layers and then I just used the plain frosting (without the candy) to frost the sides and top of the cake. I sprinkled pieces of Kit Kat bars on top of the cake. Everyone thought it was good. The frosting was pretty easy to spread and I didn't have any problems with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet R.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
The best cake. Ever! I crushed up chocolate raspberry milano cookies instead of candy bars. That's the way to to, otherwise, too sweet, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I made this for my husband's b-day using Snickers (his favorite candy bar). We all loved it!! It was especially dense & moist... I'm going to start adding pudding to every cake I make from now on :) Thanks for the yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULEZ4U

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albertville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Absolutely Delicious. I made the cake exactly as directed but found it took a bit longer to cook then stated. I didn't have milk chocolate candy so I just added Skor candy bits that I had on had. Everyone LOVED it. No leftovers :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
My husband loves peanut butter & chocolate, so for his birthday, I made this cake for him, with a peanut butter chocolate flair, and he LOVED it! I just added 2 tablespoons each of peanut butter and cocoa powder to the frosting and used chopped up peanut butter cups in the layers and on top. It looked great and was so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by whitney
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I've made this cake several times for baby showers, and it has been a MAJOR hit every time. It is super easy and has a nice heavy texture. I've only made the cake with 9 inch pans, and there was barely enough batter for 2 layers, so when I needed a larger cake, I just doubled the recipe. I also make sure I make the frosting at least 1 night before I serve the cake because it takes some time for the sugar to fully dissolve, but it is perfect the next day. I've also used white chocolate shavings to decorate the top of the cake and it makes it really classy, professional looking. No one has to know that it started as a mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This was a hit at Thanksgiving dinner! Everyone kept talking about how good the Chocolate cake was. People where going for 2nd and 3rds. I had one sqaure left (I made a sheet cake). I was proud to take the credit. I used 4 eggs and added a little more milk. It was very moist. Also I had to cook it at 350 and for 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States