Chocolate Candy Bar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This is a great recipe. I don't use the white sugar in the icing because it doesn't need it. The icing seems like mixing cement, but it is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This is the best cake recipe ever! Even my husband who doesn't like chocolate cake likes this one! I use the base recipe for every cake now (the main cake ingredients with the boxed cake mix and pudding mix). I switch it up with different flavors - it works for any flavor! I use the icing recipe (minus the candy bar and nuts) for every cake! It's the best icing for those who don't like really sweet icing. This cake & icing recipe has become my signature cake recipe! EVERYONE loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This is the most moist cake I have ever made! Great icing too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Patty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This cake is WONDERFUL! I have been requested to make it a few times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Thanks very much for this recipe. I made it yesterday for my Parents. They Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NADINE
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I used this recipe to make a SKOR cake for my husband, used a whipped cream frosting instead of the cream cheese, was well received!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Try peanut butter cups in frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Excellent recipe! I screwed it up to and it still turned out great. I realized too late that I used 2 9" round cake pans instead of 3 8". I just baked it about 10 minutes longer. The cake was so moist and good. ANd the frosting was to die for! I used Snickers bars cut up really fine and mixed it in the frosting. Then on top after it was all frosted I put shaved Hershey bars. I made the cake the day before the party and refridged it that whole night cause I wasn't sure if the frosting would get runny sitting out(and it had cream cheese) It was perfect! Big cake too! It easily serves about 15 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baking wifey
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Elegant and delicious! I took the advice of another reviewer and used crunched up oreos instead of nuts and chocolate bars. I also just sprinled the broken pieces on top of each layer of icing and on top of the cake (instead of mixing it in the frosting). I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Made this for a friends birthday party, people could not believe it was from a box. Excellent cake, I think next time I will just use plain cool whip for the frosting. I don't think you need the cream cheese of the extra sugar. I used skor candy bars instead of just plain chocolate bars. Was very good. I also left out the pecans. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States