Chocolate Candy Bar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
By far, the moistest chocolate cake I have ever eaten, but for me the icing was a little too sweet. I thought it took away from the deliciousness of the cake. The next time I make the cake, because i will definitely be making that again, I think I might just use a can of whipped chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisajarrett09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KatieKat43
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
I made this for my dad's birthday and my WHOLE family was blown away! They raved for days and when they came back to the house a few days later, they were VERY disappointed there was none left. It's very rich and hard to eat a lot if you eat a full dinner beforehand. So I suggest skipping dinner and going STRAIGHT to dessert!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieKat43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This cake is AMAZING!! I made it for my husbands birthday. He LOVED it! I used chopped Reeses instead of the milk chocolate...MMmm! Definitely freeze the candy bar before chopping. I only had an 8 ounce container of whipped topping and it still turned out great! My birthday is in a couple of days and I'm going to make it again for my self!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
"Wow" this was a hit at the Fire Hall the men loved it. I was going to use Butter finger but could not find the king size bar's so I used Reese Peanut Butter cups it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLOWERGIRL1365

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This cake is amazing!!!I used kit cats since that's my husband's favorite candy instead of milk chocolate candy bars, and it was so tasty. I also had 2 9-inch pans, so that's what I used instead of 3 8-inch pans. My cooking time for the cakes was a little bit longer, but 5-10 minutes. However, this is an awesome cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I have to say I was a little disappointed with this recipe. The cake itself was delicious, but the frosting was just to sweet! If I make it again I would cut out at least half of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Iszkiewicz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allegany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Substituted 'Dark Chocolate Cake 1' for boxed recipe but liked the frosting. Didn't add regular sugar, only conf. > it was plenty sweet. Will try again with boxed mix for a quicker dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
The cake is very soft and fluffy, not dense. I sprayed 3 8" pans with vegetable oil spray but forgot to flour. Still came out perfect. Frosting is incredibly easy to spread. I really don't like cream cheese frosting but this one was good. Will make again but next time for a gathering. A little to much cake for just a regular night at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I have been making this cake for a few years. My sons all want it for their birthday cake. I have made it in a 13x9 baking pan. After it cools I pour hot fudge on top. Let it cool. Crumble oreos on top of the fudge. I top that with vanilla ice cream. (If you take a sharp knife you can cut throught the ice cream container and get uniform slices.) I then top the ice cream with the candy bar frosting. Freeze and serve. It is amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSFRECKLEQUEEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Texas Cook
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Extremely moist cake with wonderful creamy icing! I only made minor changes...I omitted the pecans, added 1/4 tsp. of almond extract to the frosting and put the candy bars all on top instead of mixing it in the frosting. (Made it easier to decorate). I did use three 9" pans and found this to be the perfect size. I've made this twice, once with Kit Kats and another time with chocolate toffee bits. The only thing is the candy doesn't keep its crunch after you put it in the fridge a while. Next time I'll use peanut butter cups for this reason. Got rave reviews from my Bunko group and a family get together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texas Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States