Chocolate Cakes with Liquid Centers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I only needed to make 2 of these, so I cut everything in half very easily. I used 1/4 cup Ghirardelli 60% Cacao Bittersweet chocolate chips and melted it with the butter in the microwave. In about 40 seconds everything was nicely melted. I sprayed the ramekins with Canola Cooking spray and baked for about 9 minutes. These were perfect and SO easy to make. A light dusting of confectioner's sugar or a drizzle of caramel on top, makes them look so pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
Oh my goodness!! These are rich, delicious and sinful! And EASY! I followed the recipe ingredients exactly, using Ghirardelli bittersweet chocolate. I saw a similar recipe that said it is ok to set aside and refrigerate the prepared batter for a few hours, just remove and allow to come to room temperature before baking. I made the batter before dinner and took it out of the fridge just as we sat down to eat. I put them in the oven as we finished the meal. The cakes still looked a bit wet after 6 minutes, so I left them 2 minutes longer. I'm not sure if this was because the batter was still a bit cold when I put them in. I used pyrex custard cups and they didn't unmold too well, the one I tried to umold split and oozed all over the plate, but they tasted just as good eaten from the dish rather than unmolded. Another thing I discovered is that if you heat a leftover cake in the microwave for 30 seconds it bubbles up like a volcano and tastes nearly as good as fresh out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
Made 1/2 recipe to check timing for my oven. These are a bit tricky to bake JUST right but when you do they are delish! Added some vanilla to eggs, a pinch of salt, and an extra teaspoon of flour. Used semi-sweet morsels (1/4 cup for 1/2 recipe). Baked 10 1/2 minutes but next time I'll try 12. They were a little too runny but this is a great recipe to HAVE to experiment with. Definitely serve with a sprinkle of powdered sugar, vanilla ice cream and/or whipped cream. Super EZ to make after dinner and also used the microwave to melt butter and chocolate (40 secs). Used pyrex custard cups buttered and sugared. No problem sticking. Can't wait to make for company. Will add some fresh raspberries or strawberries on the side. These are the same pricey souffles that many of the "Big" name restaurants serve. Never knew they were so simple and bet you've got all the ingredients. GO MAKE THESE NOW! YUMMY !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Fantastic! This needs waaayyy more than 5 stars! I've had dessert like this in restaurants and had no idea how simple they were to make! I added a little vanilla to the batter & baked for 12 minutes based upon suggestions. They were perfect - little chocolate cakes that just ooze a delightful chocolate center. They're also not terribly sweet, just really, really chocolatey! Incredible!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
I used muffin tins but only baked for 7 minutes. It was very gooey but had a great taste. Next time I will bake for at least 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Easy, but gourmet dessert! So rich that one is usually enough for each guest. Can make ahead, refrigerate, then bring to room temp before baking. Serving option: after unmolding dust with confectioners sugar and serve with a scoop of Bryers chocolate-chip mint or other complimentary ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Olsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
Excellent dessert!! I had something similar this at two seperate high-end restaurants in Dallas several years ago and this easily competes with those. My husband - who typically prefers tart desserts - loved this. I used bittersweet Ghiradelli, added a little vanilla, opted for sugar coating the ramekins rather than flouring and baked at 425 for 10 minutes. This will now become my dinner party dessert as it is extremely quick and easy to prepare. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
I made this last night for a perfect end to Valentine's dinner, and it was a tremendous hit! I make a lot of chocolate desserts, and this is by far the best one I have made yet - as good as or better than I've had in restaurants. I cooked mine for 7 minutes only in glass custard dishes and they were perfect. However, I used Baker's Secret spray rather than buttering and flouring the cups, and they did not fall right out of the cups as I think they should have. Will butter and flour next time. Also, used Ghiardelli bittersweet. I think semi-sweet would make the dish too sweet. Too bad this is not health food -- I could eat it every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
excellent,great chocolate fix!!!! I used Ghardelli semisweet and used splenda for the sugar. I baked at 430 for 9 minutes. Used Bakers Joy and had no problem removing from cups. We ate as is but would be great with whipped cream or ice cream. Will definately make again and again. Thanks Russ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
Unbelievable dessert. I made it for Valentine's Day and it was absolutely perfect. My husband, a true chocoholic and dessert conaisseur, said that it was one of the best desserts he ever had. I cooked it for 8-9 minutes, and it turned out great, but quite liquid in the middle - 10 minutes would be perfect. Use a good quality bittersweet chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States