Chocolate Cakes with Liquid Centers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Excellent recipe! There are some important points to follow. 1) Use the best quality unsalted butter; Irish butter is perfect. 2) Use the very best quality chocolate; Trader Joe's Swiss 72% cacao dark chocolate is a good example. 3) Beat the egg/egg yolk/sugar mixture for a long time (as long as 5 minutes). We also reduced the amount of chocolate to 3.5 oz., the amount of sugar to something less than 1/4 cup, and the amount of butter to 1/3 cup. This dessert is very rich and a small portion goes a long way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I made these for Valentine's Day dessert and they were sinfully yummy! I baked them for about 10-11 minutes in ceramic ramekins. I had a little trouble getting them out of the ramekins, despite a thorough buttering and flouring from Boyfriend. Still tasted fantastic! Served with french vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Absolutely amazing. I used semi sweet chocolate. Tasted great. I used a muffin tin and the recipe made 5 muffin size lava cakes. I buttered the tin very well and dusted it with flour and the cakes unmolded very easily. I think it's better to put the tin on the upper shelf of the oven. This way, the liquid part will be in the center of the cake. If you put it on the middle shelf, the liquid part will be on top of the cakes. I served it with vanilla ice-cream, strawberries and whipped cream for Valentine's dessert and both of us enjoyed it so much. Thanks a lot for posting this amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Love it! I wanted smaller serving sizes (for less guilt), so I made them in a muffin tin. I got 6 muffin-sized cakes. I used half bittersweet and half semi-sweet chocolate. I baked them for 8 minutes and they had nice gooey centers. My husband said they were perfect, but I might try 7 minutes next time because I like a little more of that gooey-ness. I topped them with vanilla ice cream and raspberry sauce. They were so pretty... and delicious. Very easy and an impressive looking dessert to serve to guests. TRY THEM, YOU"LL LOVE THEM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karrie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
A very good recipe, it took no time at all to prepare, it was easy and turned out beautifully, my fiance loved them and it was the perfect valentines dessert to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blenheim, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Made this for Valentines day, and it was a hit! Halved the recipe and baked it into a single 2-cup ramekin - that worked fine. Used unsweet chocolate and doubled the sugar. Not quite sweet enough for our tastes, so I will probably use even more sugar next time, or follow other reviewer's suggestions and coat the ramekin in sugar instead of flour. Baked 12 minutes to account for the larger pan - came out perfect. Served immediately with fresh whipped cream. My betrothed requested a raspberry syrup over it for next time. That will be delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Yummy! Thanks for the super easy receipe- only alterations I made: added a dash of vanilla essence and a bit more sugar (almost 1/2 cup instead of 1/4) as I was using bittersweet choc and we like it sweeter.. The top wasn't done at 8 mins so cooked for 11 mins in total and it turned out great with the inside still soft.. But I guess it must be eaten soon as after a few hours, the entire cake was more solid. May be will cook for just 9- 10 mins next time. Thanks again for the wonderful receipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Excellent recipe. I halved the recipe and followed some previous reviewers tips by using butter & sugar for the ramekins, making ahead and refrigerating and bringing to room temp before baking at 430 degrees for 10 minutes. Huge hit! May leave in oven a few more minutes next time as I prefer a little less liquid in the middle. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This can be a 5 star recipe, but it's off in measurements and time of cooking, which is why I gave it 3 stars. PLEASE DON'T LET MY RATING STOP YOU FROM MAKING THEM -- they are quite delcious! I recommend everyone to read other's reviews and make necessary adjustments before you make them. I made the followng changes: I used 2 tbsp of gluten free flour for this recipe, buttered and sugared my cups (something I saw on Video Jug). I also used parchment paper to line the bottoms of my cups -- first I traced the bottom in pencil, then cut out the circles. After they're cooked, use a knife to loosen the edges. I cooked them for 10 minutes, but will cook for 12 next time as they were too gooey. I dusted with icing sugar, and served with raspberries and vanilla icecream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
These were very yummy. We really enjoyed them. I will definitely make this again...very easy and fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moosic, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Seneca Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States