Chocolate Cake in a Jar I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I made this cake and it is a wonderful cake but it went all over the oven. It was all over the sides of the jar and I had only filled this up to about a little over 3/4 of the jar. It had made a giant mess in the oven and all over the sides of the jar. Wonderful cake though and was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
My husband LOVED these. I make enough for 12 (a whole box of jars) and his fellow soldiers in Afghanistan are constantly begging him for my cooking. This one is their favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Great recipe with clear important instructions! These cakes made it just fine to Afghanistan in the summer. Nice and rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Independence, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I just want to thank you for this recipe. My son just returned from Afghanistan after being there for 7 months and I sent him 6 of these cakes in a jar every month and he and his buddies loved them. I didn't change a thing except to triple the recipe and leave out the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Great recipe but I added a box of chocolate pudding to it made it 10 times more moist. great for care packages. My husband loves them and so do I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by USMCWife070310

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
couldn't be easier! just took a batch out of the oven. they smell wonderful, next will be the taste test!! have a friend being deployed in December, so these are a "test run". thanks for a great idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I make these all the time, because as a single person a whole cake is just too much for me to eat before it goes bad. But these work out great! One jar is just enough for 2 servings and I can eat that before the cake dries out. Plus, I don't have to turn on the over to bake very often. I usually make 2 or 3 different recipes and that will get me thru at least 6 months. I have given these as presents to folks in nursing homes, college, or away from home for extended periods. I like the idea of sending them to the troops in Iraq a lot! I may just have to do something like that for christmas this year. BTW, you can use any cake recipe that uses baking powder. I have canned banana bread, spice cake, marble cake and many others. Just make sure you never fill the jar more than half full and keep plenty of space between the jars to ensure even baking. Thanks for a great recipe and a great idea for Christmas this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
The taste of this cake is great! Just make sure that you use the jars that don't have any "shoulders" and that the sides are straight up and down. Otherwise, the cake will fall ( I know from experience.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I have made this recipe many many times & love the taste. It is the moistest cake, no icing needed. They also make great Christmas gifts for single/smaller households. No waste & good to the last bite. Ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENELSON6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
These are great cakes. I added a little rum before I "sealed" it and they turned out great. Thanks for a very easy & tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States