Chocolate Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mewest1
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This is a good recipe a little on the dry side. I think I'll add a packet of chocolate instant pudding next time to add a some moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calexico, California, USA
Living In: El Centro, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Halved the recipe and it made about 16 cupcakes in 20 minutes. Very easy and very delicious light and fluffy cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris in Seattle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This was a great recipe to try with a 9 year old, she was able to conquer all the steps and it was moist and gone in one night! Beats any box cake too! I even had all the ingredients in the cupboard! Thanks for such an easy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Just finished making Chocolate Cake V and it is delightful! I halved the recipe and I'd suggest a cooking time of approximately 35 minutes if you do this. I also love how you add coffee to the cocoa in this recipe. Never heard of that before with chocolate cake, brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I love this recipe! The coffee adds a whole new layer of flavor! It's rich and delicious and tastes even better with some chocolate chips thrown in (1/4 cup) ...DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2000kitties

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Easy to mix up and the flavor is good. However, while I wouldn't go so far as to say the cake is dry, it isn't as moist a chocolate cake as it could or should be. I used a half recipe, for cupcakes, and was very careful with the baking time so as not to overbake. A good blob of "White Cake Frosting II" helped mitigate the dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I don't know what I did wrong, but this cake took forever to cook. When I thought it was done it wasn't. It was very dense and dark in color. Not going to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mybest

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This is so good and so easy! It's not too sweet and it is extremely moist. I was worried that it would dry out based on another review, but it was even more moist today than right after I made it yesterday. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
So yummy! I used this recipe for my son's 2 yr. birthday party. I followed the directions as is except for the coffee and used hot water instead. I got so many compliments on it. I will have to try it with the coffee when I'm not making it for a big crowd. Will definately use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockwall, Texas, USA
Living In: Royse City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Amazing!!! I made this cake yesterday. I followed the recipe, but instead of flouring my 9x13 pan, i used sugar!! The cake came right up off of the pan. Also it added a sweetness to the edges! The kind that melts in your mouth!! I use sugar instead of flour for everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States