Chocolate Cake Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Overall, a great idea, but using the earthquake cake comes out better. I found it too dry and the cream cheese mixture didn't blend into the cake like I thought it would. If I make it again, i will make sure the cream cheese mixture goes deeper into the cake mix and is swirled a lot more. Also, it should make the nuts and coconut stick better. Great with vanilla ice cream, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
To me this is a 4 star recipe only if the cake is warm when served - if you don't heat it up I find the cake too dry and the cream cheese topping doesn't really mix in at all. I was also hoping for a richer more chocolaty cake. I might just try some of the other similar recipes on this site or experiment a bit with my own cake recipes. I am going to have to resist adding that cream cheese topping to everything though - absolutely love that in place of frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHEWETT
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I used pecans and extra coconut. I don't think I swirled mine enough, because the cream cheese mostly stayed on the bottom/top. I cooked for 50 minutes, but I think I overcooked it a bit. It's flavor was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
Just okay for me. I used more coconut than called for but otherwise I followed the recipe to a tee. The cream-cheese flavor is really pronounced and I would have expected the chocolate to be just as rich to balance the flavor. Maybe I'll try a brownie recipe with the cream-cheese topping next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLBUMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I made this cake and it is wonderful! I will use a whole bag of coconut next though, cause I love coconut ...highly recommend this one !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
excellent and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
I have made this cake TWICE this weekend at the request of my son, husband & MIL. The first time, after baked, the cake mix "enveloped" the cream cheese mixture, and wasn't as tall after cooling. The second time, the cream cheese pretty much stayed on top. BOTH times, it was EXCELLENT! So easy, so good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
I have had this recipe for years (upside down German Chocolate cake and Volcano cake) but had never "swirled" the cream cheese....I'm sure that will make it even better.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This cake is absolutely delicious !!!!!! It came out really moist and was super easy to make. I would recommend it to anyone (and have already....!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States