Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I have never rated a recipe before, but I had to tell what I did to make a good chocolate cake even better. Due to health issues, I watch my fat and sugar religiously, but I never found a good chocolate cake recipe that fit my healthy lifestyle. When I read this recipe, I knew I could make it delicious and healthy. I used 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce instead of the oil, I used 1/2 cup of egg beaters instead of the eggs,I used 2 cups of Slenda instead of sugar, I used 1 cup plus 2 Tbls. cake flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour, decaff. coffee and finally either skim milk or evaporated skim milk. Start checking for doneness at 15 minutes. It seems to get done quicker than most cakes. Thanks for the foundation for a great healthy cake! Diane Conley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I tried making these as mini-bundts but they stuck and were ruined. (But tasted great - I probably needed more spray or maybe a dusting of cocoa powder.) The 6 mini-bundts only used about 1/3 of the batter so I made 24 cupcakes with the rest. They were PERFECT and delicious! I baked in my convection toaster over at 350 for 15 minutes. They came out of the liners perfectly and were moist and delicious! They don't even need frosting, they are so good! I am guessing this would make about 36 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Perfect! I made cupcakes With this recipe and they were light and fluffy while staying moist for several days. Will make this recipe again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
one of the best i have found
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Delicious, light, and moist cake. The batter was very runny, but it turned out just fine. Don't overbake it! When we pulled it out, the toothpick that was inserted came out perfectly clean, but the cake still felt a little sticky. Trust the toothpick! Let it cool before you frost it, since it's a lighter cake and will crumble if you don't wait. I loved this recipe and am sure to keep it in our family! (Also, don't eat this before bed time. I got so energized when I ate it. I think because of all the sugar plus the caffiene!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Olsen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I made this in a silicone bundt pan. In my oven at 350•F it took about 45 minutes(timed for 30 minutes and then checked every 5 minutes till it was done). The result was a very good looking, delicious chocolate cake!!! I simply dusted it with powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
This was absolutely the best home-made scratch chocolate cake!!!!! I made a Toblerone ganache topping and yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bibi Fazie Jayawardane
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LowCarbLongIslandsoundguy
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
Easy and taste great- I made it low carb and it turned out great - i did add some salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LowCarbLongIslandsoundguy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I did not change a thing and did not use my mixer. It was absolutely delicious. I made a peanut butter Icing and whipped up some heavy cream. I will use this for all my chocolate loving friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States