Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Moist, delicious, deep dark chocolate cake that's so easy, so quick to whip together I thought surely I must have forgotten something! No changes and no criticisms, so this is the only commentary this recipe needs. I made half a recipe in an 8" round pan and frosted it with "Chocolate Butter-Creme Frosting," also from this site. Definitely pleased. Definitely worth repeating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2000
The cake came out tasting bland. I made another one because it was so simple, this time adding 3/4 tsp. of salt. Add a whole tsp. if you like.The cake came out just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
I've made this cake over and over and we love it. The key is to add the hot coffee last (I use instant). The batter seems really runny but it comes out great. I use a basic chocolate icing and serve with ice cream. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
You can't go wrong when you have a really easy recipe with great results. I followed the recipe exactly and was extremely happy with it - no extra salt was required. I used the "Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting" recipe from this site along with a raspberry filling between layers and on top. Everyone commented on how moist the cake was. I thought I would need less time due to putting it in rounds - but it was in for 32 minutes. This is a great recipe. I am trying to figure out the next time I can make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Defiance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Absolutely perfect! One of the best chocolate cake recipes I have tried. Moist but still light and not overly dense. Super chocolate flavor. I used Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa for the first time in this recipe and loved the results. We had a smaller group for dinner and needed a smaller dessert so I halved the recipe (scaled down to 12 servings) and baked in one 8" round. Everyone loved it and I will use this recipe often. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I made this cake to take to our block party this evening, and it was a hit! I did add a little something to it, only because I made a bundt cake...this cake is awesome just as is. I added a cream cheese and chocolate chip filling to the center of the bundt cake. People kept commenting on how moist this cake was. I drizzled the cake with milk chocolate and white chocolate. Made a beautiful cake! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This cake was extremely MOIST and very good! Everyone loved it. I thought for taste it was a 4 out of 5. It was a simple, light taste. But my Family LOVED it!!!!! couldn't stop eating them (cupcakes). Now my sister has asked me to make 100 of them for my nieces Birthday Party (2 years old) Can't wait! If anyone says this is dry, you did something wrong, because that's one thing that it's not! Also, by mistake I added the coffee before mixing (not as a last step as it says) and it still came out perfect. Yes, it looks a little watery, but bakes beautifully! UPDATE: So I made these for the party (24 chocolate and then another recipe), these were even better this time. I don't know if ut was because I followed the recipe 100%, put coffee in last or the coffee I used or what, but wow so delicious! Try this recipe! It is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This is probably the best scratch cake I have ever made. Usually the scratch ones end up very dense and heavy. This one is light and fluffy and I used a butter and powdered sugar frosting which was very delicious. I baked it for 30 minutes which was perfect. Don't worry if the batter seems a little runny.....that's fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orrville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I dare not make anything different for my hubby. Best chocolate cake ever. Very moist and don't let the thinnest of the batter fool you. That makes it the best. I like to use just a vanilla frosting on it as that is what DH likes. Its hard not to eat this if you are dieting. The best ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarolynB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
i love to bake more than cooking and i'm sure i made this right. it didn't have so much flavor and it tasted watery. i'm not a great baker so i can't recommend what to do to make it better. dx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States