Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
Delicious cake! I didn't even get a taste...sent with my hubbie to work and it was devoured quickly and with great pleasure! LOL used the frosting recipe on Hershey's unsweetened cocoa box and it too was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Good, not great. I have a couple other recipes that defintely beat this one out, in terms of taste and moistness and texture. I loved how quickly this one came together though. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Fantastic cake - loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mabote

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
This is easy to make with items on hand. It has a great texture, is moist and tasted better the second day. That said, I found the flavor flat. As a vehicle for homemade frosting the cake was "fine," but alone it tasted pretty bland. I think the addition of some salt would really help it along. Also, is it possible that vinegar is a missing ingredient here. Most baking soda cakes have a bit of vinegar and THAT may be what's missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Delicious! Not too sweet, and very moist. Also, MUCH better after a day or two .. and especially cold! On the day I made and frosted it, it was kind of bland, and I would have given it about 3 1/2 stars, but the next day ... WOW! Great! So be patient. It keeps very well, and benefits from "ripening." (p.s. I used the Special Buttercream Frosting from this site ... great combo!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeville, Delaware, USA
Living In: Jerome, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I've made this several times, changing several ingredients and it's spectacular every time. Once I was out of oil so I used mayo. PERFECT! Again I was asked for a lower-fat version so I used 1/4 of the oil, a 1/2 cup of applesauce and a sploosh of sour cream. Again lovely. You really can't mess this one up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grafton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Very easy recipe. Im always looking for cakes that use oil instead of butter as I dont always have it. The batter looks so runny you think its not going to work but it did. It would make a lovely Black forest cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I made this for my wife at the end of lent (she gave up pastries), and she loved it, as did everyone else at our family gathering. Despite several dessert choices, not a scrap of my cake was left when dinner was over. Absolutely delicious. Possibly the best chocolate cake I've ever had, and so easy to make. Like other reviewers, the thinness of the batter made me nervous, but it cooked up beautifully. The only change I made was following the suggestion of adding 1.5 tsp of salt. I iced it with the "chocolate butter-creme frosting" recipe from this site, and it was also delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I think this is the best chocolate cake I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Simple and delicious:) Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States