Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This is the first time I made a cake from scratch and this cake turned out moist and delicious. I covered it with the 1 minute chocolate icing which was also very yummy. I did add a pinch of salt, not sure if it added anything but I will add a pinch of salt again since the cake turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This is one of the easiest cakes I have ever made! It is pretty fool proof too, given that twice I have forgotten the coffee and had to pull the cake out of the oven after several minutes of baking to mix in the coffee, and still it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I used half Splenda and half white sugar, still tasted fantastic! I tried it with dark chocolate cocoa powder and the coffee brought out the delicious dark chocolate flavor like crazy! Such a good recipe. When used for cupcakes, decrease temp a little bit and cook for about 14 min. otherwise they'll be very dry. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Spectacular recipe. Another reviewer stated that this recipe was on the back of Hershey's cocoa at one time with the exception of 1) buttermilk instead of regular milk and 2) 1 tsp of salt. I subbed with those and the cake was super moist and delicious! Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Excellent! Soooooo Moist! Easy to make The Bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I made this exactly as written & found it had too much of a coffee flavor. My two 4 yr olds & husband didn't like it at all. I thought it was pretty good but next time I'll either skip the coffee or only put in a tiny bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I have made this recipe twice and it is always a hit! People love how moist it is and when I tell them there's coffee in it, they like it even more. Will definitely keep making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This cake is absolutely delicious! This was my very first attempt at chocolate cake from scratch, and I couldn't be happier with the results. Only change I made was adding 1/8 tsp salt, as most recipes I've seen for chocolate cake (or chocolate anything) calls for salt. I loved the idea of using coffee in place of water. Easy & quick prep, using ingredients most already have on hand. My family has put me in charge of all birthday cakes and the likes ;). Fantastic recipe, will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kacy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
My Family loved these! Made them into cupcakes and they came out fantastic! This has become my new chocolate cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hackwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Super moist! I make 2, 9 inch round pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States