Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Spectacular recipe. Another reviewer stated that this recipe was on the back of Hershey's cocoa at one time with the exception of 1) buttermilk instead of regular milk and 2) 1 tsp of salt. I subbed with those and the cake was super moist and delicious! Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Excellent! Soooooo Moist! Easy to make The Bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I made this exactly as written & found it had too much of a coffee flavor. My two 4 yr olds & husband didn't like it at all. I thought it was pretty good but next time I'll either skip the coffee or only put in a tiny bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I have made this recipe twice and it is always a hit! People love how moist it is and when I tell them there's coffee in it, they like it even more. Will definitely keep making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This cake is absolutely delicious! This was my very first attempt at chocolate cake from scratch, and I couldn't be happier with the results. Only change I made was adding 1/8 tsp salt, as most recipes I've seen for chocolate cake (or chocolate anything) calls for salt. I loved the idea of using coffee in place of water. Easy & quick prep, using ingredients most already have on hand. My family has put me in charge of all birthday cakes and the likes ;). Fantastic recipe, will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kacy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
My Family loved these! Made them into cupcakes and they came out fantastic! This has become my new chocolate cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hackwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brantford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Super moist! I make 2, 9 inch round pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Deeeelicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hironda
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Yup, needs salt. Also, I put a squirt of dark chocolate Hershey's syrup. Tasted wonderful. Very light and airy. Very good. I made cupcakes. Surprisingly, they didn't rise very much, which worked out very well for my decorations/frosting. They were flat on the top. I got 30 cupcakes out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
Love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States