Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
Made this for my boyfriend's 18th...Came out perfect! I subsituted butter for the oil (120 grams did the trick), I added half a teaspoon of salt, an extra teaspoon of vanilla, an extra teaspoon of baking powder, and 1/4cup chocolate shavings. Covered it in my homemade frosting and chocolate-dipped strawberries. All the guests raved about it - I have none left because everyone took extras home!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaam Snir

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Wouldn't make this again. It tasted bland...but it was moist. I was really surprised at how much we didn't like this cake. Followed the directions exactly. Figured with all of the positive reviews it would be a great cake but it really didn't turn out any better than mediocre. I've had box mixes that were much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I made this cake to use in a black forest trifle and it was amazing!!! Got rave reviews from everyone who ate it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Fantastic! I kept mine non-dairy and used unflavored rice milk in place of regular milk, and it worked out perfectly. So moist. I brought this to a potluck and the reviews were outstanding. Just decorated with powdered sugar - this doesn't need anything else. Do use a dash of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKEE83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
It is a big success for me!!!! I used to feel not confident when it comes making cakes, I used to have either dry cakes or flat cakes. But this one turned out moist and spongy.Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I have made this several times now since my original search for a yummy but simple recipe to bake. I can't tell you the compliments I get when I bring this to an event. I usually do a cup of a flavored coffee from the Keurig and bake in two nine inch layer pans for about thirty two minutes as others had suggested. It comes out beautifully and is very moist and flavorful. I have used regular Hershey's as well as the special dark cocoa. Sometimes, I use a frosting recipe from the Hershey site but you can really do whatever suits you and even vary what's in the middle such as using a jam filling. If you're a novice cake baker such as myself or a seasoned pro, you can't go wrong with this recipe, always a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Braman-Duarte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rumford, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
this cake is a hit every time i make it. moist and chocolaty, easy as pie my 5 year old helps. the only change i made to it was to add 1 cup instead of 3/4 cup of chocolate. it comes out richer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Not sure why others said this is bland. I did not add salt as others mentioned because I read the reviews while the batter was baking. Next time I will add salt and then this cake will be fabulous. Note I used 1/2 the amount of sugar called for (there is plenty of sugar in the filling and frosting and I cut the sugar in half with those as well) and I made really strong coffee. The flavor is very good. After the cake is decorated, there will be plenty of sweetness. Good easy recipe to make. Oh, and I'm all about chocolate!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I usually make Sandy's Chocolate Cake, which you can find on this website. However, I didn't have all the ingredients so I looked for one I could make with what I had on hand. I made this as is except for adding a little salt. It was VERY moist, which was terrific, but really lacked in chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This is the first time I made a cake from scratch and this cake turned out moist and delicious. I covered it with the 1 minute chocolate icing which was also very yummy. I did add a pinch of salt, not sure if it added anything but I will add a pinch of salt again since the cake turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States