Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I made the recipe almost to the t. I only cut back on the sugar a little bit, (I omitted half a cup) and added a teaspoon of vanilla. I served it with vanilla ice cream. I personally loved it! It is very tasty but my friends thought it needs some kind of glaze on top. They thought it was a bit dry to serve on its own and suggested that I should serve it with coffee or tea instead. I didn't over bake it by the way. Maybe baking for 20 minutes instead of 25 would make it more moist. I will try to find a nice glaze and keep the recipe fo future use
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrissie maroullli

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KVUKOVICH
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This will be my "go to" chocolate cake recipe from now on. I was a little skeptical with the amount of coffee but, once I tasted the cake, I was sold. I made a minor substitution; instead of vegetable oil I use extra virgin coconut oil. I used this recipe for the "groom" part of my "bride and groom" cupcakes for a work bridal shower and everyone commented on how moist the chocolate cake was. Great recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Love, love, love this recipe. I covered it with the Coffee Butter Frosting recipe from here. Just for giggles, I sprinkled dry coffee grounds over the top and it added just the special thing our little birthday cake needed. My husband said "You better make this again." I guess so, since he ate four pieces. :) This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dewey, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Moist and delicious! I even ran out of all purpose and had to use freshly ground soft white wheat flour for one and it was delicious. I also used rice milk on one - again, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Cloud, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houghton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Excelent recipe! Everyone loved it! The only ingredient I changed, was 1/4 cup shortening and 1/4 cup vegetable oil, instead of 1/2 cup vegetable oil. I used instant coffee: 2 teaspoon in 1 cup of boiling water. Just the perfect cake. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This was moist and rich, however when mixing it up, I noticed there were no salt indications other than the baking soda. I thought it was a tad flat in flavor and think that 1 tsp. salt might make the difference. A definite keeper, but will add salt next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I'm glad I tried this recipe. Very easy and it came out perfect. Don't let the runny batter freak you out. I made buttercream vanilla frosting and we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
For quick snacks the kids & olds love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bing

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
This is a moist, delicious, and straightforward recipe. I topped it with mocha frosting. The only negative is I feel there is a tad too much baking soda in the recipe as given. Other than that, wonderful, thanks for the recipe Nanci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This is the first cake I have ever made and was very impressed! I wanted a light chocolate taste that wasn't too overwhelming and this by far fit exactly what I had wanted perfectly! I just added 1/4 tsp of salt, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly and added the hot coffee at the end. I didn't have a 9x13 pan so instead used an 8x8 pan and baked for 38-40 mins and used a 12 count muffin pan and baked that for 25 mins. I sprinked powdered sugar on top and served with fresh strawberries. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States