Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I've made this several times and it always comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I made this cake for a co-workers birthday and got rave reviews. Everyone commented on how moist it was. In fact, 4 people asked if I would share the recipe with them! I topped with peanut butter frosting because sometimes a cake just needs to be fun, but I think it would work with chocolate or vanilla as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
awesome. I only put half sugar.. just a tad sweet but healthier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This is a great cake really ! I didn't have a right proportions pan deep enough, so i baked it in a round pan. The cake got so so big and i had to bake it for an hour because the dish was too deep. Anyway, it didn't get overbaked or anything, but it lasted a lot longer. Have that in mind when picking a dish to bake it in. More shallow is easier :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Absolutely perfect! One of the best chocolate cake recipes I have tried. Moist but still light and not overly dense. Super chocolate flavor. I used Hershey's Special Dark Cocoa for the first time in this recipe and loved the results. We had a smaller group for dinner and needed a smaller dessert so I halved the recipe (scaled down to 12 servings) and baked in one 8" round. Everyone loved it and I will use this recipe often. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Very moist and easy to bake. Based on another review, I also topped it off with the whipped cream cheese frosting- a perfect combination
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This is probably the best scratch cake I have ever made. Usually the scratch ones end up very dense and heavy. This one is light and fluffy and I used a butter and powdered sugar frosting which was very delicious. I baked it for 30 minutes which was perfect. Don't worry if the batter seems a little runny.....that's fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emiller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orrville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Baking made easy!!! Most times I find recipes whose ingredients I can't find locally or I don't have some equipment. This recipe is GREAT. The ingredients are basic, the mixing can be done by hand and it turns out really perfect. As said before, add the hot coffee last and u could add a tsp of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This cake was extremely MOIST and very good! Everyone loved it. I thought for taste it was a 4 out of 5. It was a simple, light taste. But my Family LOVED it!!!!! couldn't stop eating them (cupcakes). Now my sister has asked me to make 100 of them for my nieces Birthday Party (2 years old) Can't wait! If anyone says this is dry, you did something wrong, because that's one thing that it's not! Also, by mistake I added the coffee before mixing (not as a last step as it says) and it still came out perfect. Yes, it looks a little watery, but bakes beautifully! UPDATE: So I made these for the party (24 chocolate and then another recipe), these were even better this time. I don't know if ut was because I followed the recipe 100%, put coffee in last or the coffee I used or what, but wow so delicious! Try this recipe! It is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Nothing great..i think salt would have upped the flavour factor that was sorely lacking. My mother wasn't even sure what flavour it was! Sorry, but this did not work for me. But it was SO easy to put together so it gets points for that :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States