Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I made this for my 9 and 12 year-old sons. They loved it. Easy to make and very moist. I subsituted natural applesauce for the oil and it came out great. I will never use a box cake mix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Quinton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA
Living In: Fair Oaks, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I tried the first one apart from it sunk in the middle, the wife said it did not taste very nice, the second using half of the ingredients and adding a pinch of salt still did not rise very much@ but the wife said it tasted great: not sure why it doesn't rise very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Baked this cake for my daughter's birthday and I was a little disappointed. Too dry for my taste. Needed a package of chocolate chips in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettyjobest

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Pretty good, I kind of screwed it up (not adding enough sugar) but that was my fault. Even so, it was pretty good because the frosting was WAY too sweet so it worked out! It was very moist and fluffy! I added a little salt b/c of a review, but I really wish I didn't I don't think you need it, especially if you add less sugar and a good strong espresso coffee. I used 2, 8 inch rounds and 25 minutes was the perfect time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Fantastic. Easy to make, no mixer needed. I made cupcakes and they are moist and really good tasting. 20-24 mins. bake time. I did cut the sugar by 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
This came out great! We are not coffee drinkers so I just used hot water and it was still wonderful! It was the most moist cake I have ever made from scratch.. We had company for dinner tonight and she was amazed that I had made it all by myself.. without a cake mix! I will make this again and even fancy it up more next time..I just served it with whip cream on the top as I didnt have time to pick out a frosting! My husband just finished the few crumbs that were left in the bottom of the pan! It's a hit at our place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Very moist cake, so easy to make...delish...caked baked in 30 mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I haven't purchased a box of cake mix in YEARS!!! This is the recipe I have made for my kids' birthdays every year and they LOVE IT!! I've sometimes used regular cocoa, dark cocoa, and a mix of both... It always comes out great! I find this recipe just as easy as a box mix and I almost always have every ingredient on hand at any given day. So anything can be celebrated with cake! Today is the last Wednesday of the month..let's have cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Legomom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I served this cake at my birthday... everyone loved it! Drizzled with marsala, filled with strawberry jam and topped with fresh cream... mmm mmm! It was easy to whip up, but it took 3 times as long as instructed to be baked. That was disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy mummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I made this recipe for my husbands birthday. My guests raved about them. I frosted them with a Lindt chocolate cream cheese frosting...Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States