Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I made this for my wife at the end of lent (she gave up pastries), and she loved it, as did everyone else at our family gathering. Despite several dessert choices, not a scrap of my cake was left when dinner was over. Absolutely delicious. Possibly the best chocolate cake I've ever had, and so easy to make. Like other reviewers, the thinness of the batter made me nervous, but it cooked up beautifully. The only change I made was following the suggestion of adding 1.5 tsp of salt. I iced it with the "chocolate butter-creme frosting" recipe from this site, and it was also delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I think this is the best chocolate cake I've ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Simple and delicious:) Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
A little bland... next time I will try a little salt. I put the "Creamy Frosting" by Carol on top... what a marvelous combination!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roonilwazlib

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
No flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Excellent, served w/ whip cream and fresh strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
i have to say this cake is the bomb! i have tried so many recipes looking for the perfect chocolate cake and this is it! i live at an altitude of 12,000 ft and this cake survived and came out fluffy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
This cake was so easy i was sure it was gonna taste awful, but it was surprisingly moist and tasted really good, and it rose really high, i tweaked it a bit, i added a bit of salt and added chocolate flavoring in addition to the vanilla flavoring required by the recipe...will definitely be making this again and again..thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Definitely add 1-2 teaspoons of salt, like others have suggested. I made 24 cupcakes with this recipe, and they were pretty good after I added salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This cake was soo good, i could not stop eat it. moist and not too sweet. I added nuts to it to give it a little texture and it came out really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States