Chocolate Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2015
Couldn't imagine this tasting bland with chocolate and coffee in it, but it kinda does. Maybe it's one of those cakes that needs to sit overnight for flavors to develop? Or needs some salt? Or stronger coffee? Anyway, it was super easy! I wasn't sure if I was supposed to mix with a mixer like most cakes, so after stirring, I mixed it on med for about 30 seconds to incorporate some air. Texture was fine, just needs some flavor oomph!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
Soooo good and light!! The batter appeared to be a little thin, but it really came out so moist and baked perfectly:).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
This has always been a wonderful cake and I love the coffee addition. This recipe has me adding coffee where other recipes ask for water. It offers a much richer taste, enhancing the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
I really dont know what happened but I followed the directions and it was a mess in the oven help!!! The cake spread out of th pan and never bake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
EXACTLY what I was looking for. Cut the recipe in half, added a little less than a half teaspoon salt and used raw chocolate (cacao) powder. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2015
I have never rated a recipe before, but I had to tell what I did to make a good chocolate cake even better. Due to health issues, I watch my fat and sugar religiously, but I never found a good chocolate cake recipe that fit my healthy lifestyle. When I read this recipe, I knew I could make it delicious and healthy. I used 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce instead of the oil, I used 1/2 cup of egg beaters instead of the eggs,I used 2 cups of Slenda instead of sugar, I used 1 cup plus 2 Tbls. cake flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour, decaff. coffee and finally either skim milk or evaporated skim milk. Start checking for doneness at 15 minutes. It seems to get done quicker than most cakes. Thanks for the foundation for a great healthy cake! Diane Conley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I tried making these as mini-bundts but they stuck and were ruined. (But tasted great - I probably needed more spray or maybe a dusting of cocoa powder.) The 6 mini-bundts only used about 1/3 of the batter so I made 24 cupcakes with the rest. They were PERFECT and delicious! I baked in my convection toaster over at 350 for 15 minutes. They came out of the liners perfectly and were moist and delicious! They don't even need frosting, they are so good! I am guessing this would make about 36 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Perfect! I made cupcakes With this recipe and they were light and fluffy while staying moist for several days. Will make this recipe again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
one of the best i have found
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Delicious, light, and moist cake. The batter was very runny, but it turned out just fine. Don't overbake it! When we pulled it out, the toothpick that was inserted came out perfectly clean, but the cake still felt a little sticky. Trust the toothpick! Let it cool before you frost it, since it's a lighter cake and will crumble if you don't wait. I loved this recipe and am sure to keep it in our family! (Also, don't eat this before bed time. I got so energized when I ate it. I think because of all the sugar plus the caffiene!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Olsen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States