Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2001
I used this recipe for the cake for my son's 3rd birthday party. Kids and grownups alike loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
I was looking for a cake with some good chocolate flavour and and this was not it. As per previous review it is probably something children might like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
This is the first 'from scratch' cake that I've found, that my family likes better than a mix! It is less sweet, and more moist. We love it. I added an extra half cup grated chocolate directly to the batter (unmelted), and substituted soy yogurt for the sour cream. Also substituted 1/4 cup applesauce for one of the eggs. Delish, and healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura W

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Not enough chocolate flavour! Nice texture, light and fluffy, but really let itself down with the lack of chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Well. The good news is, if you are an utter nimrod who's having a bad baking day and forget to add the baking soda, this cake still manages to come out right. That said, I would tend to agree that it doesn't quite deliver in the chocolate category, but if you're not looking for a cake that isn't OVERWHELMINGLY chocolately, this is certainly a good one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
ye, vanessa was right. i really wanted a good chocolaty flavour. i'll stick to vanilla cakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
really really good no not good awsome, radical, OMG. i made this cake for my ant in the hospital because she just had a baby!!!!!! she absolutly loved it!!!!! her baby is six weeks early and 2.10 ounces so i thought she might like a chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Very good and wasn't greatly difficult to make. My whole family greatly enjoyed the cake, it was moist and wasn't too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
great flavor! but i think it could use a little more chocolate to spazz it up a little...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nickflob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States