Chocolate Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I really enjoyed making this cake with a few changes. I melted 1 pkg of Chipits milk chocolate chips, because that is what I had on hands (it comes to about 1 cup). I added 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, and added the sour cream last, after everything. I also added a strawberry puree filling after they were baked. Pretty decent base recipe to experiment on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amber
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I made this cake for my birthday and it was amazing! Super moist, and I didn't even add any icing. I loved it! The only disadvantage is that it is very time consuming. But I think it's very worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This cake was light and moist, without much chocolate flavor. I did kind of like it, even though I would definitely add a LOT more chocolate if I made it again. But I can see how some people who aren't huge chocolate fans would find it very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Martin Howard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
You cant taste any chocolate....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellport, New York, USA
Living In: Blue Point, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
I give this four stars because it is so easy to make and comes out very moist and yummy. I would give it five stars but like others here have stated, it really is not chocolatey enough and if you're making chocolate cake, you want to taste chocolate, right? Next time I will add 5x chocolate as recommended by other reviewers here. To make it even easier, I used Nestle Tollhouse pieces because I had them on hand and they tasted great melted. It worked just fine so no need to grate chocolate. I also added some vanilla and coffee to the chocolate, and used buttermilk instead of sour cream because that's what I had on hand. Also, I only used one cup of sugar (I don't like things overly sweet) and I think next time I will reduce that further to 3/4 cup. I also used 1/4 cup veg oil and 1/4 cup butter instead of the 1/2 cup butter. Next time I would like to try plain yogurt to replace the sour cream. I will definitely add more chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Pretty good. A little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Bear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
the bomb just need little more cocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
very simple to makee honestly, if you dont multiply the chocolate by at LEAST 5 , then you may as well just eat dirt.. with that amount of chocolate, this cake is delicious. to make icing i use: dark chocolate chocolate hazelnut spread and butter :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Easy to make but lacked chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States