Chocolate Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Each time I've tried this recipe, the "dough" comes out like a cross between cake batter and Elmer's glue. The potential reward is not worth the hassle of trying to rework this. I'll stick with the tried and true yeast doughnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
Wow. Either I am REALLY bad at making donuts, or.... something. This is my 3rd attempt at various recipes, but neither of the others was quite as bad as this attempt. I will certainly never try to make donuts for the rest of my life after this experience! =) Some things are best bought in the grocery store I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
haven't tried this yet but if they're soaking up too much grease it's because your grease is not hot enough. learned that from my Nana in texas, where we fry everything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katymay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly, and ended up with a strange chocolate goo that more resembled batter than dough. Tasted alright after the attempted frying, but it ended up soaking up a ton of oil. I chucked the recipe in the garbage. No offense, it just wasn't the doughnut recipe I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I must say I did not have good luck with this recipe. My doughnuts turned out to be chocolate grease sponges.This problem is not with this recipe only though I have not had good luck with any chocolate doughnut recipes I have tried.My sugar doughnuts come out fine. Does anyone have advice for making chocolate doughnuts that are not greasy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
If you're hankering for choco donut and will try this recipe despite bad reviews, here's how I was able to get this recipe to work: After chilling dough 30 min, "dough" resembled "batter", so I put a medium amount of flour on the counter. Then, I used rubber scraper to scoop half batter out. Then I sprinkled flour on top of batter and used fingers to lightly press dough out. I floured biscuit cutter, cut shape, and scooted shape away from batter while still in cutter. Then, I used a liter bottle cap to create hole. I used a floured, heat-resistant spatula to slide under donut shape and slide into heated oil. After frying first batch, I decided donut resembled deep-fat fried, light and fluffy, chocolate cake. The flavor was supreme, but I wanted something easier to work with and denser. For the second batch, I used remainder of first half of batter. I worked about 1/8 c. flour into batter and used a smaller biscuit cutter, which helped make dough manageable and kept donut shape better. These changes brought this donut closer to fulfilling my expectations. I think with second half of batter, I will try to mix in 1/4 c. of flour before turning it out onto floured surface, aiming for dough similar to gingerbread cookie dough, and fry it at a temp higher than 375. These donuts absorbed more grease than I like, but flavor was still good. We ate them without icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmyfromIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
Was this recipe a prank? I just tried this recipe. I thought I made a mistake, it was very runny, so I threw the "dough" away and made it again, with the same results. I even added 2 more cups of flour, but still, the dough was like cake mix as the previous review said. Don't waste your time on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
I don't know if I did something wrong or not, but when I mixed up the batter it was just like cake batter, very runny. I put it in the fridge like the recipe said, but there was no way it could be rolled out because of how runny it was. Did this happen to anyone else?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
I loved these! They were so easy to make and tasted great. I was concerned that the doughnuts might be greasy because of previous comments I had read, so I let mine sit for 30 minutes instead of 10 and it seemed to take care of the problem. Try these with chocolate icing! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2002
I also found these to be very greasy. My regular doughnuts never soaked in this much grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States