Chocolate Butter-Creme Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
it was ok. I used 1 oz of choc...next time will use more. I found it to be very sweet and not tasting too much like chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
the frosting was excellent just made , however not so good in consistency( hard) when out of the fridge next day .. Will give it another try with less butter and see how it goes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
Quick and easy recipe. Ghirardelli bittersweet chocolate squares and popcorn salt made a great combination. I ended up using a splash more milk. This worked well on brownies. There was plenty for an 8x8 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Absolutely fantastic! I made it as written, but I didn't have milk so I used half & half. It was fabulous on an eclair cake, and will become my go-to recipe for anything calling for chocolate frosting. All of my previous attempts have used cocoa powder, but this one came together much better with the baker's chocolate. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
This recipe is spot on! I doubled it and because of the warm humid day had to stick the frosting in the refrigerator for about 30 minutes. Put it back on stand mixer for a couple of minutes where it quickly changed to a beautiful airy chocolate buttercream! Frosted a 9" layer cake, but I would triple it next time just because it would be extra wonderful! I have deleted every other chocolate frosting recipe and will keep this as my go-to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
I have made this recipe twice now and both times it has come out horribly lumpy. I am not sure what the secret is to preventing this, but I am not going to try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Loved it, does get pretty thick to work with pretty quickly but the taste was excellent. We added 3oz of chocolate per other reviews. Even hubby who really does not like chocolate frosting really enjoyed this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NancyLou
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Absolutely delicious! Took advice from BenzGal and used 3 oz. chocolate. Your may think at first that it could be grainy but just keep beating...smooth and decadent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
The best!!! If you could have heard the kids licking the spatulas!! With all their "yum" noises!!! I did double the chocolate...only because I Love chocolate. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rose Hill, Kansas, USA
Living In: Hinckley, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Tastes like Sprinkles Frosting!! This is the best chocolate frosting I have ever made! I was looking for one that tasted like the Sprinkles frosting and I found it!! yummy!! Followed directions, 2 recipes will almost frost 22 cupcakes. (but as you can see I made a box of cupcakes and only made it to 22 not 24...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States