Chocolate Butter-Creme Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Terrible recipe. Consistency is not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
very delicious and easy to make. Next time I'll try adding more chocolate, like some other reviewers suggested, just because I love chocolate, but this was yummy as is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Frosting was simple and quick to make. Taste is pretty good but tastes a bit like packaged. Very spreadable for simple frosting but does not hold up for piping. After about 10 rosettes it became mushy and unsuitable for piping. Thanks for the recipe- may use again for a quick frosting perhaps for a crumb coat but my hunt for the perfect buttercream continues
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Yummy,creamy,and delicous i recomend this great treat on Hershy layered choclate cake. Its very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandyQueen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
At first when I was whipping it it looked grainy and I was a little concerned, but I kept whipping it and not a moment after it came out nice and light, not heavy at all. I thought it was a bit too light in colour so I added a little cocoa powder (as I wasn't bothered to melt more chocolate) and it did the trick - nice and glossy, and not too sweet. Will use it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I love baking cupcakes and cakes but I can never find a good frosting recipe that works. When I tried this recipe I loved it but I didn't have chocolate but I made it any way and absolutely loved it it is by far my favorite frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
If you didn't think the recipe turned out great you did something wrong! I doubled the recipe to frost 2 layer 8 inch round cake it was perfect! thank you for a great frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtpgroove1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
very tasty and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Didn't have frosting so I made this and added extra chocolate as recommended by another reviewer. This turned out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Rich, and the frosting still pairs well with a heavy chocolate cake. I used more powdered sugar than the recipe called for, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wrygurl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States