Chocolate Butter Cream II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I made this frosting last night and I did make some very heavy changes. I used 2 cups powdered sugar and 1 cup dark cocoa powder (sifted) with 2 sticks of softened butter and 2/3 cup of shortening. I omitted the milk altogether and I must say it is one of the tastiest butter cream frostings I have ever made! It was very easy to pipe onto yellow cupcakes and then I put them in the refridgerator to help them set. They are rich and chocolatey without being too sweet. I love the dark chocolate color of the frosting as well. Thank so much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Fast and easy. Taste as good as any chocolate frosting you can buy. I'll use this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rustyrod

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I had to make this without a mixer and it was very thick so I had to add more butter and milk. It is the best frosting I have ever had. I just need to get a mixer for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Collins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This was the recipe that came out tasting most like what my husband's grandmother's creates! :) I agree with previous posts that this icing is wayyyyy too sweet, though. Next time I would try just TWO cups of confectioners sugar to start, mix with the softened butter until smooth, then add the cocoa and milk. You do have to fiddle around a bit - not only get the taste you want, but also the consistency. All that sugar made mine way too dry with just one teaspoon of milk added, so I had to counter with more milk. To lessen the sweetness I countered with more butter & not too much additional cocoa because it was chocolate-y enough. Now I have a lifetime's supply of chocolate buttercream icing, haha. So, yeah, I would definitely recommend starting this recipe with less sugar and slowly building up from there. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
It was okay. The flavor was pretty nice, but it was sickeningly sweet. Even my boyfriend, who likes to eat maple syrup plain, thought it was too sweet. I added more cocoa powder to mellow it out, as well as a bit more butter. I also used heavy cream, because I had a bit left over, and ended up using a fair amount more than what the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I love this recipe!!!! I made 3 small changes. I used half butter/half shorting, added 1/4 tsp vanilla, and 1/8 tsp. salt to cut the sweetness. It turned out so well and my kids love putting in a piping bag to decorate cupcakes!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mesandberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This was below average to okay as written. Like others have said, it needs way more milk to be spreadable. I also ended up adding almost twice as much cocoa to get a really good chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I think the recipe is alright but the measurements are a bit off. I used 1/2 cup cocoa powder, 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup of milk and 1/2 cup of whipping cream and it came out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Perfect! I was looking for an icing for chocolate zucchini muffins and this did the trick. It's nice and thick and holds shape well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I ALWAYS use this recipe! the reason everyone is having problems with this icing is simple: depends on how soft your butter is...the softer butter gives you a soft consistancy, even if u start with hard stick of butter, its easy to over mix, and it melts...also melts in a hot kitchen if you're baking a lot. You WILL have to tweek this recipe every time u make it..because of this...ALSO..if u sift the powdered sugar, it will change the ingred. slightly, so, i always add milk last, in ver small amounts to get it where i want it to be...you can also add about a tsp or so, to your liking to get a glossier icing that spreads easier...i also add more cocoa cause i fiend for chocolate, lol. which also means more butter, more milk more sugar, to get it the consistancy i prefer. you can also tweek it to 1/2 shortening and butter for more of a store bought taste...i also add vanilla to this recipe. different variations..but all the same recipe in general. its just what u prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Chocolate Cream Puff Swans

See how to make impressive, surprisingly easy cream puff swans.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States