Chocolate Butter Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I used Kahlua instead of rum, had to add lots more coffee to get my small blender to mix it. Great Flavor, I will try amaretto next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
Pretty good frosting! It is, as others have mentioned, quite thin, and different from traditional buttercreams, but it does thicken up as cooled. My biggest issue with it is that the flavor is definitely more mocha than plain chocolate, thanks to the coffee. I'm sure I could sub it with something else to change the flavor (I'm excited about trying orange juice like someone else mentioned!) I also did vanilla instead of rum, for preferences of the individuals eating the cake. I loved how easy and quick it was to make! That was my main reason for trying it. I'll def make it again when doing simple cakes, I don't see this working with decorating. I was able to pipe a few cursive words, but it's very runny and wouldn't hold up without lots of refrigerating first. :) Thanks for the recipe! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Appomattox, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This was the easiest recipe and quick. My father-in-law came by unexpectadly and I needed a quick frosting. My husband who's very picky had seconds. A winner. I didn't find it too thin I even took last little bit in bowl to make little curls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This was one of the easiest, best tasting, and beautifully glossy and creamy chocolate buttercreams I've ever had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This was sooo good and super easy! I used vanilla instead of the rum and it turned out fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I followed the recipe (except used coconut rum instead of dark) and it turned out great. To people concerned about consistency, remember that butter cream frosting is temp sensitive. when it comes out of the blender, it will be very liquidy, but put in the fridge for a bit and it will become thick. Tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
The coffee was way too strong for me! Also, it had a weird twang to it. Tasted OK on the cupcakes, but wasn't what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: High Ridge, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
recipe was very runny, not at all what I wanted. I had to add lots of powdered sugar trying to stiffen the frosting so I could use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I loved how easy it was to make but the flavor was not what I was looking for. The texture was all wrong for a buttercream. I ended up having to add a total of 2 CUPS of powdered suger. Next time I will use 1/4 c hot heavy whipping cream and exclude the rum. That suits my tastes a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScratchCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
great deep chocolate flavor. i just melted the chips and added 1 yolk, also didn't add any sugar as we like the flavor the chips without it. it's a little fluid but thickening up as it cools so may or may not need to add a pinch of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States