Chocolate Bundt® Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I spent over an hour in three different stores looking for an 18.5 ounce cake mix. I ended up using a bundt in a box mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Roth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Delicious. This recipe calls for an 18.25 oz cake mix. Can't find that size. I bought the 15 oz and didn't adjust anything else. I figured I would make adjustments next time if needed. It was still very good. At first I thought the batter might be too thin considering the difference in the cake mix size. I would definitely make this again with no changes except for only being able to find 15 oz mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is an excellent cake recipe! My dad is diabetic, so I changed it to accommodate his sweet tooth. I bought a Pillsbury sugar free Devil's Food cake mix, used 1/2 a bag of Hershey's sugar free chocolate chips, small box of Jello fat free/sugar free pudding mix, light sour cream, and then all the other ingredients. After baking, while waiting for the cake to cool, I microwaved 1/2 a container of Pillsbury sugar free Chocolate Fudge frosting for about 30 seconds, stirred until slightly melted, then drizzled it over the warm cake. This cake was a HUGE hit with my entire family...I've made it 3 Sundays in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
First time making a bundt cake ever and loved this recipe. Made it for Christmas dinner and it was a hit.I did make a chocolate glaze with confection sugar and cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sshafer
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Made this cake for a Christmas Eve party last night and it was a HUGE hit! The batter was so thick that I thought I made a mistake, but it came out perfect. I couldn't find a 18.25 oz box of cake mix - darn those manufacturers for shrinking everything! - so I actually bought a second box and added additional mix so that I got to the correct amount. The cake didn't look like anything special but it was so moist and chocolately, people were amazed. I dusted it with confectioners sugar at the end just to make it look a little prettier. Will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Nothing special. Given all of the calories, it's especially disappointing and bad. Guess I'm used to fresh, real ingredients and expected too much from a cake mix and boxed pudding. I wouldn't bother with this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Followed the recipe except I used chocolate chips instead of chunks and it was great. So moist. I bought ingredients for a glaze but never made it. This cake doesn't need it. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Instead of chocolate chunks, I like to use a whole package of mini chocolate chips. Halfway through baking, I take a piece of foil and cover the cake so that the top does not burn. My family loves this bundt cake--I like to serve it with either a dollop of Cool Whip or a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States