Chocolate Bundt® Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I had a chocolate cake mix I was needing to use when I came across this recipe. DH is the chocolate cake eater in our house and he thought it was just ok. A lot of good ingredients in this, but it just didn't wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I spent over an hour in three different stores looking for an 18.5 ounce cake mix. I ended up using a bundt in a box mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Roth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Delicious. This recipe calls for an 18.25 oz cake mix. Can't find that size. I bought the 15 oz and didn't adjust anything else. I figured I would make adjustments next time if needed. It was still very good. At first I thought the batter might be too thin considering the difference in the cake mix size. I would definitely make this again with no changes except for only being able to find 15 oz mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is an excellent cake recipe! My dad is diabetic, so I changed it to accommodate his sweet tooth. I bought a Pillsbury sugar free Devil's Food cake mix, used 1/2 a bag of Hershey's sugar free chocolate chips, small box of Jello fat free/sugar free pudding mix, light sour cream, and then all the other ingredients. After baking, while waiting for the cake to cool, I microwaved 1/2 a container of Pillsbury sugar free Chocolate Fudge frosting for about 30 seconds, stirred until slightly melted, then drizzled it over the warm cake. This cake was a HUGE hit with my entire family...I've made it 3 Sundays in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
First time making a bundt cake ever and loved this recipe. Made it for Christmas dinner and it was a hit.I did make a chocolate glaze with confection sugar and cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sshafer
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Made this cake for a Christmas Eve party last night and it was a HUGE hit! The batter was so thick that I thought I made a mistake, but it came out perfect. I couldn't find a 18.25 oz box of cake mix - darn those manufacturers for shrinking everything! - so I actually bought a second box and added additional mix so that I got to the correct amount. The cake didn't look like anything special but it was so moist and chocolately, people were amazed. I dusted it with confectioners sugar at the end just to make it look a little prettier. Will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Nothing special. Given all of the calories, it's especially disappointing and bad. Guess I'm used to fresh, real ingredients and expected too much from a cake mix and boxed pudding. I wouldn't bother with this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Followed the recipe except I used chocolate chips instead of chunks and it was great. So moist. I bought ingredients for a glaze but never made it. This cake doesn't need it. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Instead of chocolate chunks, I like to use a whole package of mini chocolate chips. Halfway through baking, I take a piece of foil and cover the cake so that the top does not burn. My family loves this bundt cake--I like to serve it with either a dollop of Cool Whip or a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States