Chocolate Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
We are a group of grade 10 students in a foods class, from Sault Ste. Marie, Ont, Canada. Our class tried out many different brownie recipes and our group was assigned this one. They tasted really good and didn't take long to make. Instead of baking a double batch, we just baked a single batch. We agree that it should be two batches because it's really small. Chocolate chips would be a good additional ingredient just to sweeten the brownies a little more. We chose not to add peanut butter to the recipe because we thought it would ruin the taste. The recipe was very delicious but we have made a few minor suggestions for next time. Thanks! From, the Muffin Girls -Sault Ste. Marie, Ont.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
These were the best brownies I have ever made. I gave them four stars due to some changes.... 1 cup sugar because some said they needed to be sweeter. 1 egg rather than 2 because that made them fudgier, and 1/4 cup p-butter to compensate for the lack of one of the eggs. Also, I used dark choc cocoa because that is what I had. They turned out very fudgy and dark and tasty. By the way, the batter was very thick like cookie dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenjendiva

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
A okay recipe, but not nearly as good as other brownies. Too bland, and there was not enough chocolate. I think that adding a cup of chocolate chips and doubling or tripling the peanut butter would help make this recipe shine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
These are excellent. We were laying around last night I decided that I wanted to make something with my 2 yr old. Well I came on to ALLRECIPES.COM and looked for brownies. I found these luckily. (We were out of butter and milk) And decided to make them. I made a double batch. These are really great because they are not over sweet!!! I made the double batch less than 12 hours ago and they are gone. There are only three of us living in the household!!!! Try these and you will love them. This recipe has broken me from ever buying store bought again!!!! Congrats!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tupper Lake, New York, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
Man, these were DEFINATELY not what I was craving. If you like cake-type brownies, then these may be up your alley. I thought they were WAAAAY to thick. I doubled the batch as suggested by others, I even added a little extra oil, just in case and removed them from the oven earlier than suggested. The batter was extremely thick, which should have warned me, but I thought I would give the recipe the benefit of the doubt. I made a double batch of peanut butter frosting, which was the best part. I was very disappointed and wasted a lot of ingredients. My husband took one bite, made a face and put it back on his plate. He loves "cake style" brownies, but these ruined it for him. My reccomendation, try another recipe, don't bother trying to tweak this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolate Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Not a recipe I would pass on. Too dry, and not very sweet or chocolatey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I used 1 cup sugar and substituted the peanut butter for chocolate chips and they were great! The top was a little crunchy and they were super gooey inside. I also used a 8x8 dish. My kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I followed the original recipe and instead of peanut butter I added Nutella. It was really good! The is a great simple recipe for brownies that is easily adjustable to tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cleveland, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Great basic recipe. Use this as a foundation to create wonderful mixtures. I added chunks of bittersweet chocolate to heighten the chocolate flavor. The hint of peanut butter was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doinit200

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
These brownies are good. The peanut butter does distract from the chocolate a little, so they are not as chocolatly as your regular brownie. Great when you don't have a brownie mix on hand. Ingrediants are common kitchen staples, so this is a great dessert to make on a whim. Overall, I liked them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajlog78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seffner, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States