Chocolate Brownies with Fewer Calories Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
Wowie Zowie! I didn't believe that low-fat brownies could be, well, good. You have proved me wrong, Anna. I made two changes: 1. I substituted 2 ounces of the semi-sweet chocolate for unsweetened (actually makes them lower in fat, plus the hubby and I like a really dark taste when it comes to chocolate); 2. Added a simple, thin frosting of 1 tbsp. butter, 1 ounce of unsweetened chocolate, 1 tsp. powdered sugar and a tsp. of fat-free milk Thanks for an AWESOME recipe! I will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javagoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
First, let me say I made a few changes. I used milk instead of water, about a cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips, and 2 eggs instead of 4 whites (I only had 2 eggs on hand). That said, this was a very good recipe. They weren't as good as regular brownies, of course, but for being lower in fat than regular brownies these were great. The batter was very thin, and I was a bit worried, but they cooked up nicely. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovemyturtles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
These are incredible and so easy to make! I used chocolate chips because that's what I had on hand. Took about 30 min. in my oven. We like them better than the high calorie brownies we've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Love them, with a few slight modifications. I almost doubled the amount of chocolate, probably to about 10 ounces (I used chocolate chips). Than I added about a teaspoon of instant coffee to the chocolate chips once they were melted. Than I put them in cupcake pans so they would cook evenly and be nice serving size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
These were very good! They had a consistency that was a little bit thicker than cake and a moderately sweet chocolate flavor. I'll definitely be making them again. For those concerned with portion control, I recommend using a muffin/cupcake pan. I did this and they turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Excellent recipe, very easy. The brownies are very light & airy - nice texture. Change to baking time: after 25 minutes, the center was still very gooey, so I reduced temp to 300 & let them bake for another 40 minutes. Edges firm, but not hard and center cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Awesome brownies! I also pour some evaporated milk in the middle of the brownies and they were were more moist and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
I'm an expirenced cook, and after looking at this recipie I couldn't figure out how it could possible work and taste good. I was wrong. These are awesome! They are not as chocolaty as I normally make, but they are only 1/3 the calories as my usual batch. I glazed them with a simple to glaze to make them richer, and they were perfect. Thanks for the recipie, I will definatly make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
They are very moist but they dont have much taste to them! Maybe some chocolate ice cream to go with them would be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I changed this recipe up a bit. Use 1/3 cup all purpose flour and 1/3 cup whole wheat flour-1/3 cup sugar and 1/3 cup splenda-1/2 cup semi sweet chocolate chips and 1/2 cup butterscotch chips. I totally space out the pinch of salt, whoops. I divided them into a mini muffin and cooked them for about 15 min. I sprinkled a bit of sea salt on top and let them cool. They came out awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephani
Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States