Chocolate Brownies with Fewer Calories Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
Wowie Zowie! I didn't believe that low-fat brownies could be, well, good. You have proved me wrong, Anna. I made two changes: 1. I substituted 2 ounces of the semi-sweet chocolate for unsweetened (actually makes them lower in fat, plus the hubby and I like a really dark taste when it comes to chocolate); 2. Added a simple, thin frosting of 1 tbsp. butter, 1 ounce of unsweetened chocolate, 1 tsp. powdered sugar and a tsp. of fat-free milk Thanks for an AWESOME recipe! I will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javagoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
These are incredible and so easy to make! I used chocolate chips because that's what I had on hand. Took about 30 min. in my oven. We like them better than the high calorie brownies we've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
These were very good! They had a consistency that was a little bit thicker than cake and a moderately sweet chocolate flavor. I'll definitely be making them again. For those concerned with portion control, I recommend using a muffin/cupcake pan. I did this and they turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Excellent recipe, very easy. The brownies are very light & airy - nice texture. Change to baking time: after 25 minutes, the center was still very gooey, so I reduced temp to 300 & let them bake for another 40 minutes. Edges firm, but not hard and center cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
First, let me say I made a few changes. I used milk instead of water, about a cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips, and 2 eggs instead of 4 whites (I only had 2 eggs on hand). That said, this was a very good recipe. They weren't as good as regular brownies, of course, but for being lower in fat than regular brownies these were great. The batter was very thin, and I was a bit worried, but they cooked up nicely. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovemyturtles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Awesome brownies! I also pour some evaporated milk in the middle of the brownies and they were were more moist and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Love them, with a few slight modifications. I almost doubled the amount of chocolate, probably to about 10 ounces (I used chocolate chips). Than I added about a teaspoon of instant coffee to the chocolate chips once they were melted. Than I put them in cupcake pans so they would cook evenly and be nice serving size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
They are very moist but they dont have much taste to them! Maybe some chocolate ice cream to go with them would be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
I'm an expirenced cook, and after looking at this recipie I couldn't figure out how it could possible work and taste good. I was wrong. These are awesome! They are not as chocolaty as I normally make, but they are only 1/3 the calories as my usual batch. I glazed them with a simple to glaze to make them richer, and they were perfect. Thanks for the recipie, I will definatly make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I changed this recipe up a bit. Use 1/3 cup all purpose flour and 1/3 cup whole wheat flour-1/3 cup sugar and 1/3 cup splenda-1/2 cup semi sweet chocolate chips and 1/2 cup butterscotch chips. I totally space out the pinch of salt, whoops. I divided them into a mini muffin and cooked them for about 15 min. I sprinkled a bit of sea salt on top and let them cool. They came out awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephani
Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States