Chocolate Brownies with Fewer Calories Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2003
I'm an expirenced cook, and after looking at this recipie I couldn't figure out how it could possible work and taste good. I was wrong. These are awesome! They are not as chocolaty as I normally make, but they are only 1/3 the calories as my usual batch. I glazed them with a simple to glaze to make them richer, and they were perfect. Thanks for the recipie, I will definatly make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
Wowie Zowie! I didn't believe that low-fat brownies could be, well, good. You have proved me wrong, Anna. I made two changes: 1. I substituted 2 ounces of the semi-sweet chocolate for unsweetened (actually makes them lower in fat, plus the hubby and I like a really dark taste when it comes to chocolate); 2. Added a simple, thin frosting of 1 tbsp. butter, 1 ounce of unsweetened chocolate, 1 tsp. powdered sugar and a tsp. of fat-free milk Thanks for an AWESOME recipe! I will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javagoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
These are incredible and so easy to make! I used chocolate chips because that's what I had on hand. Took about 30 min. in my oven. We like them better than the high calorie brownies we've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
yum, these brownies are good! for some reason i needed to baked mine for almost 30 minutes. the edges baked up fine & pulled away from the 8" pan however the center never set. i layered chunks of the baked brownie with cherry pie filling & cool whip (both "lite") in wine glasses for my valentine. this recipe should've earned 5 stars for taste & the presentation but seeing what i could not use the middle gives this 4 stars. thanks anna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NekoNeko
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
These brownies turned out nice and moist! However, they need a bit more chocolate to them so next time I will add more chocolate and a bit less sugar. I also substituted half of the all-purpose flour with whole wheat flour just to add a bit of nutrition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
These were very good! They had a consistency that was a little bit thicker than cake and a moderately sweet chocolate flavor. I'll definitely be making them again. For those concerned with portion control, I recommend using a muffin/cupcake pan. I did this and they turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pennington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Excellent recipe, very easy. The brownies are very light & airy - nice texture. Change to baking time: after 25 minutes, the center was still very gooey, so I reduced temp to 300 & let them bake for another 40 minutes. Edges firm, but not hard and center cooked through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Sorry to be negative, but these were terrible. Very cakey, lacking chocolately flavor. Tastes like something my daughter would make in her easy bake oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
These were unfortunately pretty tasteless and dry. I think if I were to try them again, I would probably add some apple sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I am sorry, but these weren't that good. I knew I wasn't going to get a ooey-gooey fudgy brownie...but these came out like a spongy-airy german chocolate cake. I did add a couple Tablespoons of mini chocolate chips to the batter...and when they were done...the chips sunk to the bottom of the brownie. I had to put fudge frosting on these to pass them off to my family! I can eat anything chocolate, but these didn't come out like I had expected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States